Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry


Student Awards and Presentations

Posters at St. Paul

Dannyalle breedenSubeksha Subedi

On Oct. 26, 2019, two of Dr. Nathan Bruender’s research students, Dannyalle Breeden and Subeksha Subedi, attended the Undergraduate Research in Molecular Sciences conference at the Minnesota State University -Moorhead campus. This meeting was a joint American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) and American Chemical Society (ACS) regional undergraduate meeting. Dannyalle and Subeksha both presented a poster and competed in a poster presentation competition. They were competing for a travel award to the national ACS or national ASBMB meetings in the spring. 

Dannyalle Breeden won one of the alternate positions for the ACS travel award. 

Excellence in Leadership Award

Andrea Bryson Sruthi Shankar

Congratulations to Andrea Bryson and Sruthi Shankar, recipients of the 2018 Excellence in Leadership Award.

Faculty Achievements

Dr. Sarah PetittoDr. Sarah Petitto was a recipient of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees Excellence in Teaching, Educator of the Year Award. Learn more...

Student Research Colloquium

Huskies Showcase (formerly called the Student Research Colloquium) will be held April 21, 2020.

Awards Banquet

The 36th Annual Awards banquet was held April 18, 2019 at the Best Western Kelly Inn. Contact the Chemistry office for details. View gallery.

Chemistry Club 2019-20 officers:

  • Kyla Larsen, co-president
  • Brianna Rathbun, co-president
  • Sabina Dhakal, Secretary/Public Relations
  • Subeksha Subedi, Demo Coordinator
  • Dwight Barton, Treasurer
  • Dr. Christina Cama and Dr. Mark Mechelke, Co-Advisors

Senior Thesis Presentations

The Senior Thesis Presentations were held on Friday, April 26, 2019. View Gallery.