Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Faculty and Staff

Contact us:

chemistry@stcloudstate.edu
Phone: (320) 308-3031
Fax: (320) 308-6041

Wick Science Building 358
St. Cloud State University
St. Cloud, Minnesota 56301-4498

Faculty

Rebecca A. Krystyniak

Rebecca A. Krystyniak

Department Chair
Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 2001, University of Northern Colorado

(320) 308-2024 | Wick Science Building 373
rakrystyniak@stcloudstate.edu
Chemistry education, inquiry-based learning, the effect of order of content on student understanding, the development and assessment of science process skills, and student understanding of chemistry on the molecular level
Jason Brethorst

Jason Brethorst

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 2017, University of Minnesota

(320) 308-4531 | Wick Science Building 367
jtbrethorst@stcloudstate.edu

Organic Chemistry and Organometallic catalysis

Nathan Bruender

Nathan Bruender

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 2012, University of Wisconsin-Madison

(320) 308-2080 | Wick Science Building 372
nabruender@stcloudstate.edu

Biochemistry with an emphasis on enzymology

Christina Cama

Christina Cama

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., 2017, Stony Brook University

(320) 308-3989 | Wick Science Building 369
ccama@stcloudstate.edu

Inorganic/Materials Chemistry

Michael A. Dvorak

Michael A. Dvorak

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1992, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

(320) 308-2015 | Wick Science Building 351
madvorak@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/madvorak
Analytical chemistry with an emphasis on fluorescence spectroscopy
Michael A. Jeannot

Michael A. Jeannot

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1997, University of Alberta

(320) 308-2046 | Wick Science Building 366
mjeannot@stcloudstate.edu
Analytical chemistry, trace environmental analysis using microextraction techniques
Tamara Leenay

Tamara Leenay

On phased retirement during spring semester 2019
Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1988, University of Pennsylvania

(320) 308-3948 | Wick Science Building 363
tleenay@stcloudstate.edu
Organic chemistry
Jack F. McKenna

Jack F. McKenna

On phased retirement during fall semester 2018
Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1982, Clemson University

(320) 308-3032 | Wick Science Building
jfmckenna@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/jfmckenna
Physical chemistry
Mark Mechelke

Mark Mechelke

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1998, University of Iowa

(320) 308-2030 | Wick Science Building 370
mmechelke@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/mmechelke
Organic chemistry, design and synthesis of novel anticancer drugs
Sarah C. Petitto

Sarah C. Petitto

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 2005, University of Nebraska--Lincoln

(320) 308-5420 | Wick Science Building 371
scpetitto@stcloudstate.edu
Physical surface chemistry
Latha Ramakrishnan

Latha Ramakrishnan

On administrative leave as Interim Associate Provost for Research and Dean School of Graduate Studies
Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India

(320) 308-3257 | Wick Science Building 373
lramakrishnan@stcloudstate.edu

Biochemistry, Pharmacology, Neuroscience

Kannan Sivaprakasam

Kannan Sivaprakasam

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1998, Indian Institute of Science

(320) 308-1692 | Wick Science Building 350
ksivaprakasam@stcloudstate.edu
Polymer/materials science
Sarah Walbridge-Jones

Sarah Walbridge-Jones

Adjunct
M.S. Michigan State University

(320) 308-2054 | Wick Science Building 365
sewalbridgejones@stcloudstate.edu

Forensic Science

Nathan S. Winter

Nathan S. Winter

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1992, Washington University

(320) 308-2052 | Wick Science Building 338
nwinter@stcloudstate.edu
Biophysical chemistry, protein crystallization and structural studies

Staff

Bernie Frie

Bernie Frie

Administrative Specialist

(320) 308-3031 | Wick Science Building 358
bmfrie@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/bmfrie
Marissa Harle

Marissa Harle

Lab coordinator
Ph.D. 2012, Purdue University

(320) 308-6086 | Wick Science Building 357
mlharle@stcloudstate.edu
Chemistry education, inquiry-based learning, use of external representations for teaching and learning about molecular-level chemistry concepts
Jeff Stobb

Jeff Stobb

College Laboratory Services Specialist

(320) 308-1743 | Wick Science Building 313-1
jwstobb@stcloudstate.edu

Emeriti

Mike Moore

Mike Moore

College Laboratory Services Specialist

Mohammad Mahroof-Tahir

Mohammad Mahroof-Tahir

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1992, Johns Hopkins University

Lakshmaiah Sreerama

Lakshmaiah Sreerama

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1991, Bangalore University (India)