Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Faculty and Staff

chemistry@stcloudstate.edu
Phone: (320) 308-3031
Fax: (320) 308-6041

Wick Science Building 358
720 Fourth Ave. S.
St. Cloud State University
St. Cloud, Minnesota 56301-4498

Faculty

Christopher A. Kvaal

Christopher A. Kvaal

Chair
Professor of Biology
Ph.D., 1999, University of Iowa

(320) 308-4138 | Wick Science Building 373
cakvaal@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/cakvaal
Molecular biology, Genetics, Bioinformatics
Nathan Bruender

Nathan Bruender

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 2012, University of Wisconsin-Madison

(320) 308-2080 | Wick Science Building 372
nabruender@stcloudstate.edu

Biochemistry with an emphasis on enzymology

Christina Cama

Christina Cama

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., 2017, Stony Brook University

(320) 308-3989 | Wick Science Building 369
ccama@stcloudstate.edu

Inorganic/Materials Chemistry

Michael A. Dvorak

Michael A. Dvorak

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1992, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

(320) 308-2015 | Wick Science Building 363
madvorak@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/madvorak
Analytical chemistry with an emphasis on fluorescence spectroscopy
Bruce Jacobson

Bruce Jacobson

Professor of Biology
Director of Biobusiness Outreach
Ph.D. Biochemistry, Rice University, Houston, Texas
B.S. Chemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Wisconsin, Madison

(320) 308-4211 | Wick Science Building 368
bljacobson@stcloudstate.edu
Structural Biology and Structure-based drug design
Michael A. Jeannot

Michael A. Jeannot

On sabbatical leave 2021-2022
Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1997, University of Alberta

(320) 308-2046 | Wick Science Building 373
mjeannot@stcloudstate.edu
Analytical chemistry, trace environmental analysis using microextraction techniques
Jeffrey R. Kirkland

Jeffrey R. Kirkland

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 2014, Rutgers University

(320) 308-3032 | Wick Science Building 366
jrkirkland@stcloudstate.edu

Environmental chemistry with a focus on analytical tools for field measurements and experiments

Mark Mechelke

Mark Mechelke

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1998, University of Iowa

(320) 308-2030 | Wick Science Building 370
mmechelke@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/mmechelke
Organic chemistry, design and synthesis of novel anticancer drugs
Sonali Pandey

Sonali Pandey

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2019, South Dakota State University

(320) 308-2054 | WSB 365
sonali.pandey@stcloudstate.edu
Food chemistry with a focus on analytical techniques in separation
Sarah C. Petitto

Sarah C. Petitto

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 2005, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

(320) 308-5420 | Wick Science Building 371
scpetitto@stcloudstate.edu
Physical surface chemistry
James Poole

James Poole

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1999, Australian National University

(320) 308-4170 | Wick Science Building 364
jspoole@stcloudstate.edu

Physical organic chemistry

Latha Ramakrishnan

Latha Ramakrishnan

On administrative leave until January 2022
Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India

(320) 308-3257 | Wick Science Building 373
lramakrishnan@stcloudstate.edu

Biochemistry, Pharmacology, Neuroscience

Kannan Sivaprakasam

Kannan Sivaprakasam

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1998, Indian Institute of Science

(320) 308-1692 | Wick Science Building 350
ksivaprakasam@stcloudstate.edu
Polymer/materials science
Ramya Sivaraj

Ramya Sivaraj

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 2021, University of Minnesota

(320) 308-4531 | Wick Science Building 367
ramya.sivaraj@stcloudstate.edu
Chemistry/STEM education, Epistemic practices of engineering

Staff

Bernie Frie

Bernie Frie

Administrative Specialist

(320) 308-3031 | Wick Science Building 358
bmfrie@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/bmfrie
Jeff Stobb

Jeff Stobb

College Laboratory Services Specialist

(320) 308-1743 | Wick Science Building 313-1
jwstobb@stcloudstate.edu

Emeriti/Retired Faculty/Staff

Rebecca Krystyniak

Rebecca Krystyniak

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 2001, University of Northern Colorado

Tamara Leenay

Tamara Leenay

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1988, University of Pennsylvania

Mohammad Mahroof-Tahir

Mohammad Mahroof-Tahir

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1992, Johns Hopkins University

Jack F. McKenna

Jack F. McKenna

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1982, Clemson University

Mike Moore

Mike Moore

College Laboratory Services Specialist

Lakshmaiah Sreerama

Lakshmaiah Sreerama

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1991, Bangalore University (India)

Nathan Winter

Nathan Winter

Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. 1992, Washington University