Department of Campus Involvement

  • Excellence in Leadership
  • Excellence in Leadership
  • Excellence in Leadership
  • Excellence in Leadership

2020 Excellence in Leadership

This annual award honors students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership at St. Cloud State based on an evaluation of their academic commitment and leadership experiences.

If circumstances allow, students will be feted April 18 at our 33rd banquet. 


Apply through 11:59 p.m. Feb. 10. View our application information-and-tips document (PDF).

Nominate an Outstanding Leader

Faculty and staff members may submit a nomination or nominations for outstanding students with whom they work.

Dennis M. Thayer Award

The Dennis M. Thayer award is given annually to the top scoring student in the Excellence In Leadership application process. In addition to a small monetary award, these winners join a distinguished group of alumni whose commitment to leading and serving others exemplifies the life of former St. Cloud State staff member Dennis Thayer, who was killed in an auto accident in 1995.

2017 Excellence in Leadership Award Winners

2017 Excellence In Leadership Group Photo

Past Honorees

Has someone you know earned the Excellence in Leadership Award? Browse our archive of recipients and group photos, dating back to 1989.