Department of English

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Cezarija Abartis

Professor
Ph.D. Southern Illinois University-Carbondale

(320) 308-3244 | 260 51 Building
c.abartis@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Renaissance literature, Greek and Roman literature, fiction writing
Matt Barton

Matt Barton

Professor
Ph.D., University of South Florida

(320) 308-2204 | 158 51 Building
mdbarton@stcloudstate.edu
Sharon Cogdill

Sharon Cogdill

Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University

(320) 308-4229 | 159 51 Building
scogdill@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Victorian studies, digital rhetoric
Julie J. Condon

Julie J. Condon

English for Academic Purposes (EAP) Coordinator
M.A., St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-5275 | 152 51 Building
jjcondon@stcloudstate.edu
Special areas of practice: Assessment for course placement, first year student services
Glenn Davis

Glenn Davis

Professor and Chair
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

(320) 308-0911 | 105 51 Building
gmdavis@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Medieval literature, medievalism, history of the English language
Judith Dorn

Judith Dorn

Ph.D., Yale University

(320) 308-5432 | 255 51 Building
jadorn@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: 17th- and 18th-century British literature, narrative, theory
Rhoda Fagerland

Rhoda Fagerland

Instructor
M.A., St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-4189 | 112 51 Building
rjfagerland@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: English for speakers of other languages, composition, grammar

Tim Fountaine

Assistant Professor
Ph.D, Michigan Technological University

(320) 308-5472 | 117A 51 Building
trfountaine@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: The social context of writing, theories and practices of rhetoric and of writing
Catherine Fox

Catherine Fox

Professor
Ph.D., Iowa State University

(320) 308-5106 | 161 51 Building
cofox@stcloudstate.edu

John Grether

IEC/Composition Coordinator
M.A., St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-5108 | 111 51 Building
jdgrether@stcloudstate.edu
James Heiman

James Heiman

Associate Professor, Director of Composition/Internships
Ph.D., Iowa State University

(320) 308-4735 | 110 51 Building
jrheiman@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Composition pedagogy, writing program administration, rhetorical theory, professional communication
Judith Kilborn

Judith Kilborn

Professor
Ph.D., Purdue University

(320) 308-3109 | 264 51 Building
jmkilborn@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Digital rhetoric, document design, business writing, film and literature

Choonkyong Kim

Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

(320) 308-3245 | 101 51 Building
ckim@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Second language acquisition, vocabulary acquisition, research methods, language teacher education
Ettien Koffi

Ettien Koffi

Professor
Ph.D. Linguistics, Indiana University

(320) 308-3539 | 261 51 Building
enkoffi@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Phonetics/phonology, sociolinguistics, language planning, Anyi language research
John P. Madden

John P. Madden

Associate Professor
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin

(320) 308-0910 | 162 51 Building
jpmadden@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Second language comprehension, Computer-assisted language learning and digital literacy, second language acquisition, second language research methods, second language teaching methods
Maria (Masha) Mikolchak

Maria (Masha) Mikolchak

Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina

(320) 308-4979 | 123A Lawrence Hall
mmikolchak@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Comparative literature, French, German and Russian national literatures, 19th century European novel, languages and cultures
Carol Mohrbacher

Carol Mohrbacher

Professor
Ph.D., Iowa State University

(320) 308-6467 | 161 51 Building
camohrbacher@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Digital copyright and authorship, the rhetoric of alterity, writing center theory and practice
Shannon Olson

Shannon Olson

Professor
M.F.A., University of Minnesota

(320) 308-5104 | 257 51 Building
srolson@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Fiction, non-fiction
Monica Pelaez

Monica Pelaez

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Brown University

(320) 308-3183 | 103 51 Building
mtpelaez@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: 19th-century American literature, early American literature, poetry

Constance M. Perry

Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University

(320) 308-2202 | 256 51 Building
cmperry@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Modern and contemporary American literature, gender studies in literature, women in literature
James Robinson

James Robinson

Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University

(320) 308-4956 | 102 51 Building
jhrobinson@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Teaching English as a second language (TESL) methods and ESL, culture and ethnographic research in educational settings

Ed Sadrai

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota

(320) 308-3061 | 126 51 Building
emsadrai@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and Research areas: Information structure, morpho-syntax, sociolinguistics, second language acquisition
Michael Schwartz

Michael Schwartz

Associate Professor
Director of the Intensive English Center
Director of English for Academic Purposes
Ph.D., University of New Mexico

(320) 308-3237 | 107 51 Building
mwschwartz@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: World Englishes, second language writing, discourse analysis and teacher development

Rex Veeder

Professor
Ph.D., M.F.A., University of Arizona

(320) 308-3189 | 252 51 Building
rlveeder@stcloudstate.edu
Health humanities, rhetoric, composition, creative writing

Staff

Lynn Haley

Office Administrative Specialist

(320) 308-3779
lkhaley@stcloudstate.edu
Linda Krueger

Linda Krueger

Office Manager

(320) 308-3829 | 104 51 Building
lekrueger@stcloudstate.edu