Department of English

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Cezarija Abartis

Professor
Ph.D. Southern Illinois University-Carbondale

(320) 308-3244 | 260 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
c.abartis@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Renaissance literature, Greek and Roman literature, fiction writing
Matt Barton

Matt Barton

Professor
Ph.D., University of South Florida

(320) 308-2204 | 158 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
mdbarton@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Digital Rhetoric, Composition, Game Studies, Wikis, Popular Culture, Professional Writing, Science Fiction/Fantasy Literature, Digital Pedagogy
John Colburn

John Colburn

M.F.A., University of Minnesota

(320) 308-3093 | 258 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
Teaching and research areas: Creative Writing Poetry and Fiction, the Multi-Genre Workshop, Poetry in Performance, Children's Literature
Sharon Cogdill

Sharon Cogdill

Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University

(320) 308-4229 | 159 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
scogdill@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Victorian studies, digital rhetoric
Julie J. Condon

Julie J. Condon

English for Academic Purposes (EAP) Coordinator
M.A., St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-5275 | 152 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
jjcondon@stcloudstate.edu
Special areas of practice: Assessment for course placement, first year student services
Michael Dando

Michael Dando

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

(320) 308-3724 | 164 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
Teaching and research areas: Urban education, Culturally relevant pedagogy, Critical literacy development, English education, Teacher education
Glenn Davis

Glenn Davis

Professor
On leave to serve in Administration
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

(320) 308-0911 | 105 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
gmdavis@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Medieval literature, medievalism, history of the English language
Judith Dorn

Judith Dorn

Co-Chair
Ph.D., Yale University

(320) 308-5432 | 255 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
jadorn@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: 17th- and 18th-century British literature, Narrative, the Novel, Critical theory, Mythology, English literary periods medieval to modern

Tim Fountaine

Assistant Professor
Writing Center Director
Ph.D, Michigan Technological University

(320) 308-5472 | 117A Ruby Cora Webster Hall
trfountaine@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: The social context of writing, theories and practices of rhetoric and of writing, writing center theory and practice
Catherine Fox

Catherine Fox

Professor
Ph.D., Iowa State University

(320) 308-5106 | 161 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
cofox@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Feminist, queer, and rhetorical theories; Feminist/critical pedagogy; Embodied learning and writing; Mindfulness practices

John Grether

IEC/Composition Coordinator
M.A., St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-5108 | 111 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
jdgrether@stcloudstate.edu
James Heiman

James Heiman

Associate Professor, Director of Composition/Internships
Ph.D., Iowa State University

(320) 308-4735 | 110 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
jrheiman@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Composition pedagogy, writing program administration, rhetorical theory, professional communication
Judith Kilborn

Judith Kilborn

Co-Chair
Professor
Ph.D., Purdue University

(320) 308-3109 | 264 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
jmkilborn@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Digital rhetoric, document design, business writing, film and literature

Choonkyong Kim

Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

(320) 308-3245 | 101 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
ckim@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Second language acquisition, vocabulary acquisition, research methods, language teacher education
Ettien Koffi

Ettien Koffi

Professor
Ph.D. Linguistics, Indiana University

(320) 308-3539 | 261 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
enkoffi@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Phonetics/phonology, sociolinguistics, language planning, Anyi language research
John P. Madden

John P. Madden

Associate Professor
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin

(320) 308-0910 | 162 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
jpmadden@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Second language comprehension, Computer-assisted language learning and digital literacy, second language acquisition, second language research methods, second language teaching methods
Maria (Masha) Mikolchak

Maria (Masha) Mikolchak

Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina

(320) 308-4979 | 123A Lawrence Hall
mmikolchak@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Comparative literature, French, German and Russian national literatures, 19th century European novel, languages and cultures
Carol Mohrbacher

Carol Mohrbacher

Professor
Ph.D., Iowa State University

(320) 308-6467 | 161 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
camohrbacher@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Digital copyright and authorship, the rhetoric of alterity, writing center theory and practice
Shannon Olson

Shannon Olson

Professor
Program Coordinator
M.F.A., University of Minnesota

(320) 308-5104 | 257 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
srolson@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Creative Writing Fiction and Nonfiction, Editing and Publishing, Reading and Producing the Literary Magazine, Humor Writing
Monica Pelaez

Monica Pelaez

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Brown University

(320) 308-3183 | 103 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
mtpelaez@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: 19th-century American literature, early American literature, poetry

Constance M. Perry

Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University

(320) 308-2202 | 256 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
cmperry@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Modern and contemporary American literature, gender studies in literature, women in literature
James Robinson

James Robinson

Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University

(320) 308-4956 | 102 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
jhrobinson@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Teaching English as a second language (TESL) methods and ESL, culture and ethnographic research in educational settings
Ed Sadrai

Ed Sadrai

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota

(320) 308-3061 | 126 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
emsadrai@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and Research areas: Information structure, morpho-syntax, sociolinguistics, second language acquisition
Michael Schwartz

Michael Schwartz

Associate Professor
Director of the Intensive English Center
Director of English for Academic Purposes
Ph.D., University of New Mexico

(320) 308-3237 | 107 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
mwschwartz@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: World Englishes, second language writing, discourse analysis and teacher development

Rex Veeder

Professor
Ph.D., M.F.A., University of Arizona

(320) 308-3189 | 252 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
rlveeder@stcloudstate.edu
Health humanities, rhetoric, composition, creative writing

Staff

Lynn Haley

Office Administrative Specialist

(320) 308-3779
lkhaley@stcloudstate.edu

Molly Mitzel

Office Manager

(320) 308-3829 | 104 Ruby Cora Webster Hall
memitzel@stcloudstate.edu