Department of Physics and Astronomy

Faculty and Staff

Contact us

physics@stcloudstate.edu

Phone: 320.308-2011
Fax: 320.308-4728

324 Robert H. Wick Science Building (WSB)
St. Cloud State University
720 Fourth Avenue South
St. Cloud, Minnesota 56301-4498

Faculty

Christopher Kvaal

Christopher Kvaal

Department Chair, Professor of Biological Sciences
Ph.D. 1999 University of Iowa - Iowa City, IA

(320) 308-2012 | WSB 310
cakvaal@stcloudstate.edu
Parasitic cell cycle control
Kevin Haglin

Kevin Haglin

Professor of Physics
Ph.D. 1990, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

(320) 308-2012 | Wick Science Building 313
klhaglin@stcloudstate.edu
http://feynman.stcloudstate.edu/haglin
Electromagnetic probes, heavy flavor, heavy ion collisions, nuclear (hadronic) matter, nuclear theory, quark gluon plasma
Sneh Kalia

Sneh Kalia

Professor of Physics
Ph.D. 1984, Lucknow University (India)

(320) 308-7285 | Wick Science Building 317
skalia@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/skalia
Theoretical physics
Annette Lee

Annette Lee

Associate Professor of Astronomy
M.F.A. 2000, Yale University
M.S. 2008, Washington University-St. Louis

(320) 308-2013 | Wick Science Building 314
aslee@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/aslee
Extrasolar planets, Native American star knowledge, science/math education
Russ Lidberg

Russ Lidberg

Ph.D. 2017, University of Minnesota- Twin Cities

(320) 308-4858 | Wick Science Building 318
rllidberg@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/rllidberg
Optical spectroscopy, materials science
Zengqiang 'John' Liu

Zengqiang 'John' Liu

Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D. 2007, University of Minnesota

(320) 308-3154 | Wick Science Building 308
zliu@stcloudstate.edu
Liquid crystals, scientific instrumentation, open-source electronics for education
Christofer Nelson

Christofer Nelson

Assistant Professor of Physics
Ph.D. 2003, University of Utah

(320) 308-2011 | WSB 318
cbnelson@stcloudstate.edu
Condensed matter theory
Elisha Polomski

Elisha Polomski

Assistant Professor of Physics
Ph.D. 2000, University of Florida

(320) 308-2774 | Wick Science Building 311
efpolomski@stcloudstate.edu
Infrared astronomy of dying stars and star formation regions
Steven Ratliff

Steven Ratliff

Professor of Physics
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles

(320) 308-3274 | Wick Science Building 316
stratliff@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/stratliff/
Medical physics, radiation transport.
John Sinko

John Sinko

Assistant Professor of Physics
Ph.D. 2008, University of Alabama - Huntsville

Wick office: (320) 308-4183 or ISELF 21: (320) 308-5607 | Wick Science Building 309
jesinko@stcloudstate.edu
Experimental physics and optics, High-power laser ablation phenomena, Optical sensors, Laser propulsion, Electric propulsion, Thermochromic materials
Todd Vaccaro

Todd Vaccaro

Adjunct Professor of Physics
Ph.D. 2001, University of Florida

(320) 308-3145 | Wick Science Building 312
trvaccaro@stcloudstate.edu
Observational astronomy, Binary stars

Staff

Ann Hudson

Ann Hudson

Office and Administrative Assistant

(320) 308-2011 | WSB 324
achudson@stcloudstate.edu
Steve Zinsli

Steve Zinsli

Physics Laboratory Technician

(320) 308-2011 | WSB 304
szinsli@stcloudstate.edu