Department of Mathematics & Statistics

Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Keith M. Agre

Keith M. Agre

(320) 308-2987 | ECC 139D
kmagre@stcloudstate.edu

Mathematics Faculty

Keith M. Agre

Keith M. Agre

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 2000, University of Nebraska at Lincoln

William B. Branson

Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 2000, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Dale R. Buske

Dale R. Buske

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1997, Iowa State University of Science and Technology

Jiang-Ping (Jeff) Chen

Jiang-Ping (Jeff) Chen

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1996, Yale University

Nick C. Fiala

Nick C. Fiala

Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 2002, Ohio State University

(320) 308-2988 | ECC 260
ncfiala@stcloudstate.edu

Foster Graif

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 2020, University of Minnesota

(320) 308-2187 | ECC 155
foster.graif@stcloudstate.edu
Danrun Huang

Danrun Huang

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1992, University of Maryland - College Park

Paul C. Unger

Paul C. Unger

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
M.A. 2017, Minnesota State University - Mankato

(320) 308-6720 | ECC 141
pcunger@stcloudstate.edu
Stephen M. Walk

Stephen M. Walk

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1999, University of Notre Dame

(320) 308-6085 | ECC 152
smwalk@stcloudstate.edu
Peiyi Zhao

Peiyi Zhao

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1990, University of Iowa

(320) 308-2148 | ECC 250
pzhao@stcloudstate.edu

Mathematics Education Faculty

Sonja L. Goerdt

Sonja L. Goerdt

Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 2007, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

(320) 308-2253 | ECC 224
slgoerdt@stcloudstate.edu
Susan K. Haller

Susan K. Haller

Fall Semester Only
Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 1997, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

(320) 308-4836 | ECC 242
skhaller@stcloudstate.edu
Melissa B. Hanzsek-Brill

Melissa B. Hanzsek-Brill

Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 1997, University of Georgia

(320) 308-2282 | ECC 157
mhanzsek@stcloudstate.edu
Bishnu Naraine

Bishnu Naraine

Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 1989, Ohio State University

(320) 308-2270 | ECC 143
bnaraine@stcloudstate.edu
Roozbeh Vakil

Roozbeh Vakil

Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 1992, Kansas State University

(320) 308-4964 | ECC 153
rvakil@stcloudstate.edu

Statistics Faculty

Michael D. Ernst

Michael D. Ernst

Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 1997, Southern Methodist University

Cynthia L. Hollenstein

Assistant Professor of Statistics
M.S. 1997, Kansas State University

(320) 308-2087 | ECC 240
cynthia.hollenstein@stcloudstate.edu

Xiaoyin Li

Assistant Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 2015, University of Cergy-Pontoise (France)

(320) 308-2186 | ECC 232
xiaoyin.li@stcloudstate.edu

Ibrahim Soumare

Assistant Professor of Statistics
Director of the Statistical Consulting & Research Center
M.S. 2020, North Dakota State University

(320) 038-2459 | ECC 142/ISELF 227
ibrahim.soumare@stcloudstate.edu
Richard A. Sundheim

Richard A. Sundheim

On Sabbatical Fall 2021 - Spring 2022
Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 1979, Purdue University

(320) 308-2239 | ECC 236
rasundheim@stcloudstate.edu
Shiju Zhang

Shiju Zhang

Associate Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 2005, University of Toledo

(320) 308-1744 | ECC 230
szhang@stcloudstate.edu

Mengshi Zhou

Assistant Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 2020, Case Western Reserve University

(320) 308-2149 | ECC 237
mengshi.zhou@stcloudstate.edu

Office Staff

Robin J. O'Leary

Office manager

(320) 308-3002 | ECC 139
rjoleary@stcloudstate.edu