Department of Mathematics & Statistics

Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Keith M.Agre

Keith M.Agre

(320) 308-2987 | ECC 139D
kmagre@stcloudstate.edu

Mathematics Faculty

Keith M. Agre

Keith M. Agre

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 2000, University of Nebraska at Lincoln

William B. Branson

Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 2000, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Gary D. Buls

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1986, Iowa State University of Science and Technology

(320) 308-2087 | ECC 240
gdbuls@stcloudstate.edu

Shirley R. Buls

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1987, Washington State University

(320) 308-2187 | ECC 243
srbuls@stcloudstate.edu
Dale R. Buske

Dale R. Buske

Interim Associate Dean for the College of Science and Engineering
Ph.D. 1997, Iowa State University of Science and Technology

Jiang-Ping (Jeff) Chen

Jiang-Ping (Jeff) Chen

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1996, Yale University

Janis M. Cimperman

Janis M. Cimperman

Associate Professor of Mathematics
M.S. 1974, St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-2186 | ECC 232
jmcimperman@stcloudstate.edu
Nick C. Fiala

Nick C. Fiala

Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 2002, Ohio State University

(320) 308-2988 | ECC 231
ncfiala@stcloudstate.edu
Danrun Huang

Danrun Huang

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1992, University of Maryland-College Park

Miles Hubbard

Miles Hubbard

Associate Professor of Mathematics
M.S. 1986, St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-4734 | ECC 230
mhubbard@stcloudstate.edu
Sandra G. Johnson

Sandra G. Johnson

Fall Semester Only
Associate Professor of Mathematics
M.Ed. 1970, University of North Dakota

(320) 308-2109 | ECC 260
sgjohnson@stcloudstate.edu
Ravindra N. Kalia

Ravindra N. Kalia

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1972, University of Lucknow (India)

(320) 308-2079 | ECC 252
rnkalia@stcloudstate.edu
Daniel J. Scully

Daniel J. Scully

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1988, Utah State University

(320) 308-6740 | ECC 236
djscully@stcloudstate.edu
Stephen M. Walk

Stephen M. Walk

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1999, University of Notre Dame

(320) 308-6085 | ECC 152
smwalk@stcloudstate.edu
Peiyi Zhao

Peiyi Zhao

Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. 1990, University of Iowa

(320) 308-2148 | ECC 250
pzhao@stcloudstate.edu

Mathematics Education Faculty

Sonja L. Goerdt

Sonja L. Goerdt

Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 2007, University of Minnesota

(320) 308-2253 | ECC 224
slgoerdt@stcloudstate.edu
Susan K. Haller

Susan K. Haller

On Sabbatical 2018-2019
Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 1997, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

(320) 308-4836 | ECC 242
skhaller@stcloudstate.edu
Melissa B. Hanzsek-Brill

Melissa B. Hanzsek-Brill

Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 1997, University of Georgia

(320) 308-2282 | ECC 157
mhanzsek@stcloudstate.edu
Bishnu Naraine

Bishnu Naraine

Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 1989, Ohio State University

(320) 308-2270 | ECC 143
bnaraine@stcloudstate.edu
Roozbeh Vakil

Roozbeh Vakil

Professor of Mathematics Education
Ph.D. 1992, Kansas State University

(320) 308-4964 | ECC 153
rvakil@stcloudstate.edu

Statistics Faculty

Michael D. Ernst

Michael D. Ernst

Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 1997, Southern Methodist University

Nadeesha Lihinikadu Arachchige

Assistant Professor of Statistics
Director of the Statistical Consulting & Research Center
M.S. 2013, Kansas State University

(320) 308-6710 | ECC 234
nlihinikadu@stcloudstate.edu
Leonard C. Onyiah

Leonard C. Onyiah

Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 1989, University Of Strathclyde (Scotland, Great Britain)

(320) 308-2278 | ECC 238
lconyiah@stcloudstate.edu
David H. Robinson

David H. Robinson

On Sabbatical 2018-2019
Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 1979, University of Iowa

(320) 308-2149 | ECC 237
dhrobinson@stcloudstate.edu

Corey Smith

Assistant Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 2018, Ohio State University

(320) 308-4259 | ECC 140
csmith@stcloudstate.edu
Richard A. Sundheim

Richard A. Sundheim

Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 1979, Purdue University

(320) 308-2239 | ECC 141
rasundheim@stcloudstate.edu

Paul C. Unger

Assistant Professor of Statistics
M.A. 2017, Minnesota State University - Mankato

(320) 308-6720 | ECC 251
pcunger@stcloudstate.edu
Shiju Zhang

Shiju Zhang

Associate Professor of Statistics
Ph.D. 2005 University of Toledo

(320) 308-1744 | ECC 142
szhang@stcloudstate.edu

Office Staff

Linda A. Fuchs

Linda A. Fuchs

Office manager

(320) 308-3001 | ECC 139
lafuchs@stcloudstate.edu

Robin J. O'Leary

Office manager

(320) 308-3002 | ECC 139
rjoleary@stcloudstate.edu