School of Public Affairs

Advisory Board

SOPA Advisory Board

The School of Public Affairs is committed to preparing students to be stewards of the public interest and practitioners and leaders in the public and private sectors. The School of Public Affairs Advisory Council is vital in ensuring the ongoing success, growth and vitality of the school by supporting the mission of empowering student-centered success, innovative and integrated curriculum, adaptability and promoting internal and external collaboration.


The following leaders serve as advisers to the School of Public Affairs. They provide direction and advise the school about changes and needs of the public affairs sector including input about curriculum, careers, professional development, funding and research opportunities.

The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson are elected for a period of two years, commencing with the start of the University's fiscal year on July 1. 

Members are invited by way of written invitation from the dean and may serve a total of three, three-year terms.

Debra Yerigan ‘82

  • Advisory Board Chair
  • Attorney
  • Messerli & Kramer, Minneapolis

David Borgert

  • Advisory Board Vice Chair
  • Owner & Principal at Strategic Associates, LLC
  • Director, Community and Government Relations (Ret.)
  • CentraCare Health

Chas Anderson ‘96

  • Co-founder and Partner
  • MZA+Co, St. Paul

James Bullard ‘84

  • President
  • Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Missouri

John Campbell

  • Professor Emeritus in Criminal Justice Studies
  • St. Cloud State University

Santo Cruz

  • Executive Director of Government and Community Relations
  • CentraCare Health

Greg Emerick '87

  • Co-founder
  • Sentera, Minneapolis

Patti Gartland ‘80

  • President
  • Greater St. Cloud Development Corporation, St. Cloud

Don Hickman

  • Vice President of Workforce and Economic Development
  • The Initiative Foundation, Little Falls

Shaunna Johnson

  • City Administrator
  • City of Waite Park

Jeffery Magee `91

  • Sr. Manager, Public Sector, PXT Central Science
  • Amazon

Jermaine Ogaja ‘07

  • Economist
  • The International Monetary Fund, Washington D.C.

Dan Rogan ‘91

  • Senior Assistant
  • Hennepin County Attorney, Minneapolis

William Schramm ‘04

  • Senior Vice President
  • Logan Circle Partners, Summit, New Jersey

Steven S. Smith ‘75

  • Kate M. Gregg Distinguished Professor of Social Science & Director of the Weidenbaum Center
  • Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri

Jim Steve '87

  • Commander
  • St. Cloud Police Department (retired)

Chris Thiebaut ‘05

  • Director, U.S. Head of Corporate Actions
  • BlackRock, Wilmington, Delaware

Rachel Thompson

  • Executive Director
  • Visit St. Cloud