Political Science

Faculty and Staff

Department Location

Phone: (320) 308-2162
328 Ruby Cora Webster Hall St. Cloud state University
720 Fourth Ave. S
St. Cloud, MN 56301

Faculty

Gilvert Angervil

Gilvert Angervil

Assistant Professor of Political Science
Ph.D., Public Administration, 2017, Florida Atlantic University

(320) 308-4131 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 301
gilvert.angervil@stcloudstate.edu
Public administration theory, public management, public policy, local government and strategic management. 
Patricia Bodelson

Patricia Bodelson

Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. 1988, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

(320) 308-2035 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 300
pbodelson@stcloudstate.edu
Democratic citizenship, American government, disaster response policies, research methods, public administration, health administration.
Linda J. Butenhoff

Linda J. Butenhoff

Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. 1996, University of Denver

(320) 308-4903 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 302
ljbutenhoff@stcloudstate.edu
International studies, global studies, human rights, conflict and conflict resolution and Asian studies, international politics theory, global society and citizenship, and Asian government and politics.
James B. Cottrill

James B. Cottrill

Department Chair
Co-Director of SCSU Survey
Associate Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. 2004, Texas A&M University

(320) 308-4200 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 304
jcottrill@stcloudstate.edu
American political institutions and processes; electoral competition in congressional races with special emphasis on the impact of redistricting.
Edward F. Greaves

Edward F. Greaves

Associate Professor of Political Science
Director Latin American Studies
Ph.D. 2002, University Of Florida

(320) 308-5164 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 314
efgreaves@stcloudstate.edu
Political ideas and institutions, world politics, Latin American government and politics, non-western world issues, international security, international law, and terrorism, insurgency and world politics.
Michelle Kukoleca Hammes

Michelle Kukoleca Hammes

Associate Professor of Political Science
Faculty Co-Director, SCSU Survey
Ph.D. 1998, SUNY-Binghamton

(320) 308-4130 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 303
mhammes@stcloudstate.edu
Comparative federalism -- U.S.-Canada, U.K. politics, governments of western Europe, women in politics, and popular culture and politics.
Darla Hamann

Darla Hamann

Assistant Professor of Political Science
Ph.D., Human Resources/Industrial Relations 2009, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

(320) 308-5541 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 305
Public administration, public service ethics, human resource management, organizational behavior and theory, nonprofit management, leadership, health care management.
Aref N. Hassan

Aref N. Hassan

Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. 2006 University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

(320) 308-2529 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 311
anhassan@stcloudstate.edu
World politics, Middle Eastern and Arab Peninsula politics, political Islam, ethnic conflict, American foreign policy, global political economy, and the intelligence community.
Jason R. Lindsey

Jason R. Lindsey

Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. 2004, Columbia University

(320) 308-2163 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 306
jrlindsey@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/jrlindsey
Contemporary political theory, politics of Russia and Eastern Europe, western political thought, and radical politics.
Morgan Nyendu

Morgan Nyendu

Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. 2006, University of Calgary

(320) 308-2537 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 308
mnyendu@stcloudstate.edu
Politics of the global south, government and politics in Sub-Saharan Africa, political reform, democratization and decentralization, development and underdevelopment, international organizations.
Shawn E. Schooley

Shawn E. Schooley

Associate Professor of Political Science
MPA Director
Ph.D. Public Administration & Public Affairs 2008, Virginia Tech

(320) 308-4129 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 301
sschooley@stcloudstate.edu
Public administration, local government administration, ethics for bureaucrats, public and nonprofit organizational theory, administrative leadership, increasing direct citizen participation.
Kathleen A. Uradnik

Kathleen A. Uradnik

Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. 1998, University of California-Berkeley
J.D. 1989, University of Virginia

(320) 308-4132 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 309
kuradnik@stcloudstate.edu
American Government, law, American political thought; Constitutional law, and the courts and civil rights.
Steven C. Wagner

Steven C. Wagner

Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. 1989, Northern Illinois University

(320) 308-5423 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 313
swagner@stcloudstate.edu
Public administration, state politics, voting behavior, federal funding of local services and organizational decision-making.
Shoua Yang

Shoua Yang

Associate Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. 2006, Northern Illinois University

(320) 308-2528 | Ruby Cora Webster Hall 312
syang@stcloudstate.edu
Public administration, public policy, comparative politics in Southeast Asia and ethnic politics.

Staff

Cindy Gresser Helm

Cindy Gresser Helm

Office Manager
B.S. Office Administration, St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-2162 | Stewart Hall 329
lghelm@stcloudstate.edu

Student Services

School of Public Affairs Student Success Center
329 Stewart Hall
(320) 308-4790
sopa@stcloudstate.edu

Kristy Modrow

Kristy Modrow

Student Relations and Experiential Learning Director

320-308-6080 | Stewart Hall 363
kkmodrow@stcloudstate.edu
Internships, career development, graduate school, study abroad.  Available for advising if unable to contact advisor or chairperson of the Political Science Department.
Brittney Hoff

Brittney Hoff

Academic Advisor

320-308-6075 | Stewart Hall 329E
brittney.hoff@stcloudstate.edu
Advising for School of Public Affairs students who have 60 or less credits and are unable to meet with their Political Science Advisor.