University Library

Check Out Policies

Find borrowing requirements, loan periods, and more information:

For Students

Check Out Privileges

  • Available for all enrolled students
  • StarID and Library Extension is available for students not currently enrolled, but completing a degree

Loan Periods

  • Books: 28 days for undergraduates and 56 days for graduate students
  • Equipment, video, and non-print media: 3 days
  • Interlibrary loan materials: Determined by the lending library

Item Limits

50 items checked out at a time

  • Maximum 5 DVDs
  • Maximum 5 VHS tapes
  • Maximum 1 of each equipment type (e.g. digital camcorder, data projector, etc.)
  • Maximum 1 study room reservation per day

Due Date Notification

Login to My Account to keep track of your items and due dates. We will send you e-mail notices as a courtesy to remind you of upcoming due dates but it is your responsibility to return items on time.

Fines for Unreturned Items

  • Lost equipment: Replacement cost and $10 nonrefundable handling charge
  • Lost books and media items: Replacement cost and $10 nonrefundable handling charge
  • Lost interlibrary loan materials: Determined by the lending library

Charges of $50 or more will result in loss of all library privileges until the charges have been paid or the items have been returned and associated charges have been removed. Late fines will be transferred to the SCSU Business Office and must be paid in order to request transcripts, register for or drop classes, and receive grades or graduate.

Renewals

Login to My Account to renew items you have checked out. At least one renewal is allowed on everything except Reserve items, as long as another patron has not requested the item.

For an interlibrary loan item, click on "ILL Requests" to request a renewal. The decision to grant or deny a renewal request is made by the lending library.

For Faculty and Staff

Loan Periods

  • Books: 16 weeks (but may be recalled after 28 days)
  • Equipment, video, and non-print media: 14 days
  • Interlibrary loan items: Determined by lending library

Item Limit

  • 150 items checked out at a time

Due Date Notification

Login to My Account to keep track of your items and due dates. We will send you e-mail notices to remind you of upcoming due dates.

Fines for Unreturned Items

  • Lost books, media items, and equipment: Replacement cost
  • Lost interlibrary loan items: Determined by lending library

Charges of $200 or more will result in loss of all library privileges until the charges have been paid or the items have been returned and associated charges have been removed.

Renewals

Login to My Account to renew items you have checked out. At least one renewal is allowed on everything except Reserve items, as long as another patron has not requested the item.

For an interlibrary loan item, click on "ILL Requests" to request a renewal. The decision to grant or deny a renewal request is made by the lending library.

For Alumni and Community Patrons

Check Out Privileges

  • St. Cloud State University alumni (Use current Minnesota driver's license or state ID)
  • All Minnesota residents (Use current Minnesota driver's license or state ID)
  • Current faculty, staff, and students from other MnPALS libraries (Use Campus ID)

Loan Periods

  • Books: 28 days
  • Interlibrary loan items: Determined by lending library

Item Limit

10 items checked out at a time

Due Date Notification

Login to My Account to keep track of your items and due dates. To login, use the barcode on your ID and your last name. We will send you e-mail notices to remind you of upcoming due dates but it is your responsibility to return items on time.

Fines for Unreturned Items

  • Lost books: Replacement cost and $10 nonrefundable handling charge
  • Lost interlibrary loan materials: Determined by the lending library

Charges of $50 or more will result in loss of all library privileges until the charges have been paid or the items have been returned and associated charges have been removed. All outstanding balances must be paid at the St. Cloud State University Business Office. Unpaid charges will ultimately be forwarded to a collection agency and may be recovered from state tax refunds.

Renewals

Login to My Account to renew items you have checked out. At least one renewal is allowed on everything, as long as another patron has not requested the item.

For an interlibrary loan item, click on "ILL Requests" to request a renewal. The decision to grant or deny a renewal request is made by the lending library.

For more details on the library's circulation policies, contact the Circulation Desk (320-308-3083).