Biological Sciences (M.S.)

Advisors

The biology department faculty have diverse specializations within fields associated with Cell and Molecular Biology and Ecology and Evolution. 

Many of the course offerings during your graduate degree are flexible, allowing you to plan out a suite of courses with your faculty advisor that will complement and enhance your learning experience.

Masters of Science (M.S.) students will need to have a faculty advisor identified in advance of applying that has agreed to work with the student on their masters thesis that is required for the completion of the degree. Below is a list of some of the potential faculty advisors and their research interests in our department. For a full list of faculty please visit the Department of Biological Sciences Faculty page.

Examples of Some Potential Faculty Advisors Include:

Biological Sciences: Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution

  • Dr. Althea Archer (althea.archer@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates quantitative ecology, plant ecophysiology, spatial analysis, and computational biology.
  • Dr. Jorge Arriagada (jearriagada@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates the taxonomy and systematics of plants.
  • Dr. William Cook (wmcook@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates aspects of prairie ecology including habitat fragmentation and community ecology. 
  • Dr. Matthew Davis (mpdavis@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates the evolution and tree of life of fishes with an emphasis on fishes that live in deep-sea habitats and their associated adaptations (e.g., bioluminescence, fangs).
  • Dr. Matthew Julius (mljulius@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates the potential applications algae may have on various industries, including alternative energy sources and dietary supplements.
  • Dr. Jennifer Lamb (jylamb@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates the taxonomy and population genetics of amphibians.

Biological Sciences: Life Science Education

Biological Sciences: Medical, Cellular, and Molecular Biology

  • Dr. Marina Cetkovic-Cvrlje (mcetkoviccvrlje@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates immunology, autoimmunity (experimental type 1 diabetes), transplantation (experimental pancreatic islet transplantation and bone marrow transplantation), and Janus tyrosine kinase (JAK3) inhibitors..
  • Dr. Ryan Fink (rcfink@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates food microbiology, host-microbe interactions, and Salmonella-microbiome interactions.
  • Dr. Oladele Gazal (osgazal@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates mammalian physiology and endocrinology.
  • Dr. Kristin Gulrud (kpgulrud@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates medical microbiology, bacterial toxins, and mechanisms of bacterial pathogenesis.
  • Dr. Satomi Kohno (skohno@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates comparative endocrinology, endocrine disrupters, and sex determination in alligators.
  • Dr. Christopher Kvaal (cakvaal@stcloudstate.edu): Research integrates bioinformatics, molecular biology, and genetics to study a variety of systems including causes of Toxoplasmosis.
  • Dr. Gengyun Le (gengyun.le@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates endocrinology, musculoskeletal function, sex differences, and exercise physiology.
  • Dr. JoAnn Meerschaert (jmeerschaert@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates immunology and cell biology.
  • Dr. Brian Olson (blolson@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates the molecular biology of human diseases including the use of cell culture and biochemistry to study human proteins involved in human diseases.
  • Dr. Heiko Schoenfuss (hschoenfuss@stcloudstate.edu): A leading researcher in aquatic toxicology and functional morphology.
  • Dr. Timothy Schuh (tjschuh@stcloudstate.edu): Research investigates the early development of Xenopus laevis.