Department of Environmental and Technological Studies

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Kurt R. Helgeson

Kurt R. Helgeson

Department Chair
Professor
Ed.D. 1993, West Virginia University

320-308-3127 | HH 216
krhelgeson@stcloudstate.edu
Construction, technology education, Project Lead the Way, K-12 outreach, & Husky Make-it Space
Jungwon Ahn

Jungwon Ahn

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2017, University of Minnesota

320-308-4946 | 208 Headley Hall
jahn@stcloudstate.edu

Numerical simulation, heat exchangers, cooling methods in electronics design, computer integrated manufacturing, plastics manufacturing

Anthony I. Akubue

Anthony I. Akubue

Internship Coordinator
Professor
Ed.D. 1989, West Virginia University

320-308-3219 | HH 207
aiakubue@stcloudstate.edu
Energy technology, technology and third world development, technology transfer
Michner (Mitch) Bender

Michner (Mitch) Bender

Professor
Ph.D. 2001, Auburn University

320-308-3891 | Brown Hall 202-S
mrbender@stcloudstate.edu
Environmental soil science, waste management, nutrient cycling, undergraduate research, service learning
Chuck Hentges

Chuck Hentges

Assistant Professor
M.S. 2012, St. Cloud State University

320-308-2118 | HH 204
crhentges@stcloudstate.edu
Construction, technology education, Youth Apprenticeships, K-12 outreach
Balsy Kasi

Balsy Kasi

Professor
Ph.D. 1999, Iowa State University of Science and Technology

320-308-3132 | Office HH 209
balsy@stcloudstate.edu
Materials Science & Engineering, Industrial Technology, Sustainable Engineering & Management, STEM Education, NDT/NDE, Corporate Finance, Investment Analysis & Portfolio Management, Capital Budgeting
James A. Nicholson

James A. Nicholson

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 1991, Colorado State University

320-308-4705 | Office HH 205
janicholson@stcloudstate.edu
Communications, computer-aided design, graphics, manufacturing, product design
Charles L. Rose

Charles L. Rose

Professor
Ph.D. 1996, Iowa State University of Science and Technology

320-308-3129 | HH 209
clrose@stcloudstate.edu
Lakes, water quality, wetlands
Mark Schroll

Mark Schroll

Assistant Professor
M.S. George Washington

320-308-5699 | HH203
mschroll@stcloudstate.edu
Technology Education, Husy Make-it Space, 3D printing and Rapid Prototyping, Mobile Lab and Project Lead the Way
Nancy K. Sundheim

Nancy K. Sundheim

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1988, Kansas State University

320-308-5324 | HH 202
nksundheim@stcloudstate.edu
Lean manufacturing, process improvement (Quality Control), industrial engineering, cross-functional teamwork

Staff

Deb Michaelis

Office Manager

302-308-3235 | HH 216
dkmichaelis@stcloudstate.edu
Tim Goodner

Tim Goodner

Manufacturing Center Supervisor
M.S. 1973, University of Northern Colorado

302-308-2859 | HH 124
tjgoodner@stcloudstate.edu
Automotive/transportation technology, manufacturing, technologies, practical engineering