Department of Biology

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Maureen L. Tubbiola

Maureen L. Tubbiola

Department Chair
Professor of Biology
M.S. 1989, Ph.D. 1992, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
B.A. 1983, Humboldt State University

(320) 308-3035 | 275 Wick Science Building
mltubbiola@stcloudstate.edu
Jorge E. Arriagada

Jorge E. Arriagada

Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 1993, Ohio State University at Columbus
B.S. 1979, M.S. 1983, University of Concepcion, Chile

(320) 308-3456 (O); 320.308.3463 (Herbarium) | 219 Wick Science Building
jearriagada@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/jearriagada/
Area of Research: Plant systematics, conservation, ethnobotany, invasive plant species, wetland plant communities. Invasive species website: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/invasiveplants
Marina Cetkovic-Cvrlje

Marina Cetkovic-Cvrlje

Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 1997, Medical School, University of Zagreb (Croatia)
M.D. 1986, M.S. 1991, Medical School, University of Zagreb (Croatia)

(320) 308-3490 | 268 Wick Science Building
mcetkoviccvrlje@stcloudstate.edu
Area of Research: Immunology, autoimmunity (experimental type 1 diabetes), transplantation (experimental pancreatic islet transplantation and bone marrow transplantation), Janus tyrosine kinase (JAK3) inhibitors.
William M. Cook

William M. Cook

Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 2003, University of Kansas

(320) 308-2019 | 228 Wick Science Building
wmcook@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/wmcook
Area of Research: Prairie ecology, habitat fragmentation, interactions between humans and wildlife, patterns of biodiversity, community ecology of insects, plants, mammals, and birds
Matthew P. Davis

Matthew P. Davis

Assistant Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 2009, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas
B.S. 2004, Regis University, Denver, Colorado

(320) 308-3222 | 276 Wick Science Building
mpdavis@stcloudstate.edu
http://www.bathypterois.com
Area of Research: Fishes, Deep Sea, Bioluminescence, Evolution, Systematics, Macroevolution, Genomics and Anatomy
Bruce A. Eichhorst

Bruce A. Eichhorst

Assistant Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 1994, University of North Dakota
B.S. 1982, M.S. 1986, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

(320) 308-2983 | 252 Wick Science Building
beichhorst@stcloudstate.edu
Areas of Research: Vertebrate ecology, conservation/wildlife biology, ornithology, herpetology, wetland ecology, wildlife ecotoxicology
Ryan C. Fink

Ryan C. Fink

Assistant Professor of Biology
M.S. 1996, Ph.D. 2000, University of Milano, Italy;

(320) 308-3047 | 274 Wick Science Building
rcfink@stcloudstate.edu
Area of Research: Molecular food microbiology, host-microbe interactions, salmonella-microbiome interactions
Oladele S. Gazal

Oladele S. Gazal

Professor of Biology
M.S. 1991, Ph.D. 1994, Iowa State University
B.S. 1986, Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria

(320) 308-3045 (O); (320) 308-5110 (Lab) | 227 Wick Science Building
osgazal@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/osgazal
Area of Research: Mammalian physiology, endocrinology
Kristin Pederson Gulrud

Kristin Pederson Gulrud

Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 1996, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
B.A. 1990, St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-3207 | 270 Wick Science Building
kpgulrud@stcloudstate.edu
Area of Research: Medical microbiology, bacterial toxins, mechanisms of bacterial pathogenesis, public health microbiology
Tony C. Her, M.D.

Tony C. Her, M.D.

Assistant Professor

(320) 308-4975 | 255 Wick Science Building
tcher@stcloudstate.edu
Peter Hundt

Peter Hundt

Assistant Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 2016, University of Minnesota
M.S. 2008, University of Minnesota
B.S. 2004, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

Evolution of diet, trophic morphologies, and habitat transitions in marine fishes.
Bruce Jacobson

Bruce Jacobson

Professor of Biology
Director for Biobusiness Outreach
Ph.D. in Biochemistry, Rice University, Houston, Texas.
B.S. in Chemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Wisconsin, Madison

(320) 308-4211 | 229 Wick science Building
bljacobson@stcloudstate.edu
Area of Research: Structural Biology and Structure-based drug design
Matthew L. Julius

Matthew L. Julius

Professor of Biology
M.S. 1995, Ph.D. 2000, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
B.S. 1993, Butler University

(320) 308-6684 (O); (320) 308-5688 (Lab) | 225 Wick Science Building
mljulius@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/mljulius
Area of Research: Ecology and systematics of algae, large lake limnology and paleolimnology
Wanda Kraemer

Wanda Kraemer

Assistant Professor of Biology
M.A. 2000, University of St. Mary's
B.S. 1995 St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-3005 | 267 Wick Science Building
wmkraemer@stcloudstate.edu
Christopher A. Kvaal

Christopher A. Kvaal

Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 1999, University of Iowa
B.A. 1989, St. Olaf College, Northfield, Minnesota

(320) 308-4138 (O); (320) 308-2026 (Lab) | 230 Wick Science Building
cakvaal@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/cakvaal
Area of Research: Molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics
JoAnn Meerschaert

JoAnn Meerschaert

Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 1994, SUNY-Stony Brook
B.S. 1989, Michigan State University

(320) 308-2288 | 220 Wick Science Building
jmeerschaert@stcloudstate.edu
Area of Research: Immunology, cell biology
Louise Millis

Louise Millis

Medical Laboratory Science Program Director
Associate Professor Biology
Medical Laboratory Science

(320) 308-5438 | 269 Wick Science Building
lmillis@stcloudstate.edu
Mark A. Minger

Mark A. Minger

Professor of Biology
M.A. 1995, Ph.D. 2000, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
B.A. 1985, Western Washington University

(320) 308-5507 | 271 Wick Science Building
maminger@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/maminger
Area of Research: Science education, teacher preparation and learning environments
Brian L. Olson

Brian L. Olson

Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 2003, University of Minnesota
B.A. 1996, Gustavus Adolphus College

(320) 308-5774 | 277 Wick Science Building
blolson@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/blolson
Mary E. Rumpho-Kennedy

Mary E. Rumpho-Kennedy

Adjunct Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 1982 Washington State University

(320) 308-1500 | 221 Wick Science Building
merumphokennedy@stcloudstate.edu
Heiko L. Schoenfuss

Heiko L. Schoenfuss

Professor of Biology
M.S. 1997, Ph.D. 1997, Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College
B.S. 1991, University of Bayreuth, Germany

(320) 308-3130 (O); (320) 308-5689 (Lab) | 273 Wick Science Building
hschoenfuss@stcloudstate.edu
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/aquatictox/
Area of Research: Vertebrate morphology, effects of endocrine disrupters
Timothy J. Schuh

Timothy J. Schuh

Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 1990, University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.S. 1984, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

(320) 308-5433 | 224 Wick Science Building
tjschuh@stcloudstate.edu
Area of Research: Developmental biology, early development of Xenopus laevis
Neal J. Voelz

Neal J. Voelz

Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 1990, Colorado State University
M.A. 1983, St. Cloud State University;
B.A. 1980, St.Olaf College

(320) 308-5427 | 222 Wick Science Building
njvoelz@stcloudstate.edu
Area of Research: Aquatic ecology, streams, invertebrates
Bethany J. Walters

Bethany J. Walters

Assistant Professor
M.S. 2014, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks
B.S. 2012, University of Minnesota, Crookston

(320) 308-4825 | 248 Wick Science Building
bjwalters@stcloudstate.edu

Staff

Barb Kjellberg

Barb Kjellberg

Administrative Specialist

(320) 308-2037 | 262 Wick Science Building
bjkjellberg@stcloudstate.edu
Brian Lorenz

Brian Lorenz

College Laboratory Services Specialist

(320) 308-4911 | 290 Wick Science Building
balorenz@stcloudstate.edu
Vitaliy Razdaybedin

Vitaliy Razdaybedin

Biology Lab Coordinator
Ph.D. 2007, Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, Ukraine
M.S. 2002, Luhansk Taras Shevchenko National University, Luhansk, Ukraine
B.S. 2001, Luhansk Taras Shevchenko National University, Luhansk, Ukraine

(320) 308-4729 | 272 Wick Science Building
vrazdaybedin@stcloudstate.edu
Denise Schaefer

Denise Schaefer

Administrative Specialist

(320) 308-2039 | 262 Wick Science Building
dcschaefer@stcloudstate.edu
Michelle Wagner

Michelle Wagner

Biology Lab Coordinator
Ph.D. 2001, University of Minnesota
B.S. 1995, Texas Lutheran University

(320) 308-2531 | 223 Wick Science Building
mlwagner@stcloudstate.edu

Graduate Students

Danielle Burski

Danielle Burski

Advisor: Dr. A. Marcattilio
Nicholas Cipoletti

Nicholas Cipoletti

Advisor: Dr. H. Schoenfuss
Samera De Silva

Samera De Silva

Advisor: Dr. O. Gazal
Laura Donahue

Laura Donahue

Advisor: Dr. J. Arriagada
DeAnna Dvorak

DeAnna Dvorak

Advisor: Dr. M. Julius
Kumiko Highley

Kumiko Highley

Advisor: Dr. A. Marcattilio
Kelly Jacobs

Kelly Jacobs

Advisor: Dr. J. Arriagada
Nusrat Jahan

Nusrat Jahan

Advisor: Dr. R. Fink
Rebecca Jensch

Rebecca Jensch

Advisor: L. Millis
Billie Dawn Johnson

Billie Dawn Johnson

Advisor: Dr. H. Schoenfuss
Cameron Johnson

Cameron Johnson

Advisor: Dr. M. Cetkovic-Cvrlje
Erum Khan

Erum Khan

Advisor: Dr. O. Gazal
Katharine Casey Kipping

Katharine Casey Kipping

Advisor: Dr. R. Fink
Victoria Korn

Victoria Korn

Advisor: Dr. H. Schoenfuss
Rene Martin

Rene Martin

Advisor: Dr. M. Davis
James McDermond-Spies

James McDermond-Spies

Advisor: Dr. M. Julius
Emily Olson

Emily Olson

Advisor: Dr. M. Davis
Dinusha Peiris

Dinusha Peiris

Advisor: Dr. C. Kvaal
Anna Schorr

Anna Schorr

Advisor: Dr. C. Kvaal
Kaleb Tilahun

Kaleb Tilahun

Advisor: Dr. O. Gazal
Chimaobim Uzochukwu

Chimaobim Uzochukwu

Advisor: Dr. O. Gazal
Lina Wang

Lina Wang

Advisor: Dr. H. Schoenfuss
Les Warren

Les Warren

Advisor: Dr. H. Schoenfuss