SCSU Online and Distance Learning


The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) is overseen by the non-profit National Council for State Authorization of Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA). Participation in SARA is voluntary. SARA benefits its members by providing a uniform and efficient way to get approval for distance education in SARA member states without individually applying to each state for such approval, subject to certain limitations.

St. Cloud State University is a participating institution in SARA. Learn more about NC-SARA and how it relates to students, faculty, and institutions. Additional questions regarding NC-SARA may be directed to SCSU Online and Distance Learning.

Non-SARA States


California is the only state that does not currently participate in NC-SARA. St. Cloud State University is an out-of-state public institution with no physical presence in California and is not under the scope of institutions required to report to the California Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education. California does not regulate non-profit higher education, and St. Cloud State University can offer its online programs to residents of California. St. Cloud State University complies with California regulations concerning postsecondary distance education.

Non-SARA Territories

Federated States of Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) has no regulations, policies, or laws that restrict U.S. institutions from providing distance education to citizens of the FSM.

Republic of the Marshall Islands

The Republic of the Marshall Islands has no regulations or rules regarding the authorization of distance education programs.

Connect with SCSU