Department of Music

Faculty and Staff

Staff

Janelle Pederson

Janelle Pederson

Office Manager

320-308-3224 | PAC 238
jkpederson@stcloudstate.edu
Dani Andersen

Dani Andersen

Administrative Assistant

320-308-3295 | PAC 238
dmandersen@stcloudstate.edu
Carroll Fisher

Carroll Fisher

Instrument Repair/Piano Tuning

320-308-2236 | PAC 108
cjfisher@stcloudstate.edu

Faculty

Kristen Bauer

Kristen Bauer

M.M. St. Mary's University
B.A. College of Saint Benedict/St. John's University

(320) 308-2285 | 147 Performing Arts Center
ktpatton@stcloudstate.edu
Music Education

Bio

Michelle Bell

Michelle Bell

M.A. University of Minnesota (in progress)
B.A. University of Massachusetts

(320) 308-3201 | 227 Performing Arts Center
mcbell@stcloudstate.edu
Sports Band

Bio

Alexandra Berndt

D.M.A. University of Minnesota
M.M. New England Conservatory
B.M. Northwestern University, IL

(320) 308-2285 | 147 Performing Arts Center
adberndt@stcloudstate.edu
Bassoon

Bio

Mary Jo Bot

Mary Jo Bot

M.S. St. Cloud State University
B.S. St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-3836 | 243 Performing Arts Center
mjbot@stcloudstate.edu
Women's Choir

Bio

Mark Breckenridge

Mark Breckenridge

Ph. D. University of North Texas
M.M. Central Michigan University

(320) 308-5928 | 135 Performing Arts Center
mbreckenridge@stcloudstate.edu
Trombone, Music History, Brass Methods

Bio

Catharine Bushman

Catharine Bushman

D.M.A. University of Texas - Austin
M.M. University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
B.M. Northwestern University

(320) 308-2082 | 227A Performing Arts Center
csbushman@stcloudstate.edu
Wind Ensemble, Campus Band, Music Education

Bio

Patty Diederichs

Patty Diederichs

M.M. University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.M. St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-5928 | 135 Performing Arts Center
pldieder1@aol.com
French Horn

Bio

Matthew Ferrell

Matthew Ferrell

D.M.A. University of Miami
M.M. Temple University
B.M. University of Hartford

(320) 308-2260 | 248A Performing Arts Center
maferrell@stcloudstate.edu
Choir, Conducting, Music Fundamentals

Bio

Kim Gast

Kim Gast

D.A. University of Northern Colorado
M.A. University of Denver
B.M.E. University of Denver

(320) 308-2249 | 244 Performing Arts Center
kgast@stcloudstate.edu
Saxophone, Music Fundamentals

Bio

Hugh Givens

Hugh Givens

D.M.A. West Virginia University
M.M. West Virginia University
A.B. Glenville State College

(320) 308-3275 | 244 Performing Arts Center
hgivens@stcloudstate.edu
Voice, Vocal Pedagogy

Bio

Marion Judish

Marion Judish

D.M.A. University of Minnesota
M.M. University of Minnesota
B.M. University of Colorado-Boulder

(320) 308-3289 | 246 Performing Arts Center
mjjudish@stcloudstate.edu
Violin, Viola, Humanities

Bio

Melissa Krause

Melissa Krause

D.M. Florida State University
M.A. University of Minnesota
B.M. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

(320) 308-3283 | 245 Performing Arts Center
mkrause@stcloudstate.edu
http://melissa-krause.com/
Flute, Theory, Musicianship

Bio

Richard Manik

Richard Manik

M.M. Boston University
B.M.Duquesne University

(320) 308-2295 | 144 Performing Arts Center
rcmanik@stcloudstate.edu
Jazz Ensemble

Bio

Peter Meyer

Peter Meyer

M.A. St. Mary of the Woods College
B.A. University of Minnesota

(320) 308-2295 | 144 Performing Arts Center
pgmeyer@stcloudstate.edu
Guitar, Music Therapy

Bio

Scott Miller

Scott Miller

Ph.D. University of Minnesota
M.M. University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
B.A. SUNY - Oneonta

(320) 308-3291 | 249 Performing Arts Center
slmiller@stcloudstate.edu
Composition, New Media, Theory

Bio

Tori Okwabi

Tori Okwabi

D.M. Florida State University
M.M. Michigan State University
B.M. University of Wisconsin-Madison

(320) 308-3270 | 146 Performing Arts Center
tpokwabi@stcloudstate.edu
Clarinet

Bio

Emily Olson

Emily Olson

D.M.A. University of Minnesota
M.M. University of Minnesota
B.M. Northwestern University

(320) 308-3270 | 146 Performing Arts Center
ecolson@stcloudstate.edu
Oboe

Bio

Nancy Parker

Nancy Parker

Ph.D. University of Minnesota
M.A. Portland State University
B.A. Bethel University

(320) 308-3122 | 243 Performing Arts Center
naparker@stcloudstate.edu
Music Education, Music Preparatory Program

Bio

Shannon Sadler

Shannon Sadler

D.M.A. University of California - San Diego
M.M. New England Conservatory
B.M. University of Kansas

(320) 308-3272 | 242 Performing Arts Center
ssadler@stcloudstate.edu
Piano

Bio

Joel Salvo

Joel Salvo

D.M.A. University of Minnesota
M.M. University of Michigan
B.M. Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory of Music

(320) 308-2280 | 148 Performing Arts Center
jcsalvo@stcloudstate.edu
Cello, Bass

Bio

Takako Seimiya Senn

Takako Seimiya Senn

D.M.A. University of Minnesota
M.M. University of Minnesota
B.M. Musashino Academia Musicae - Tokyo, Japan

(320) 308-4257 | 222 Performing Arts Center
seim0014@yahoo.com
Trumpet

Bio

Kristian Twombly

Kristian Twombly

Department Chair
D.M.A. University of Maryland
B.M. University of Maryland

(320) 308-4703 | 248 Performing Arts Center
kmtwombly@stcloudstate.edu
http://kristiantwombly.com/
Composition

Bio

Terry Vermillion

Terry Vermillion

D.A. University of Northern Colorado
M.M. University of Northern Colorado
B.M. University of Montana

(320) 308-5237 | 133 Performing Arts Center
tvermillion@stcloudstate.edu
Percussion Studies

Bio

Catherine Verrilli

Catherine Verrilli

D.M.A. University of Maryland College Park
M.M. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
B.M. Shenandoah University

(320) 308-2259 | 247 Performing Arts Center
cverrilli@stcloudstate.edu
Voice, History, Humanities

Bio

Charles Wazanowski

Charles Wazanowski

M.M. Manhattan School of Music
B.M. Hartt School of Music

(320) 308-3022 | 135 Performing Arts Center
garmills@minn.net

Preparatory Program

Deb Ferrell

Deb Ferrell

Voice Instructor
Associate Director, Cantabile Girls' Choir

Kay Nam

Kay Nam

Piano Instructor
Accompanist, Choristers

Ann Oleksowicz

Ann Oleksowicz

Piano Instructor

Bonnie Sorensen-Ernst

Bonnie Sorensen-Ernst

Piano Instructor

Emeriti

Charles Echols

Faculty Emeritus

Kenton Frohrip

Faculty Emeritus

Maebeth Gyllstrom

Faculty Emeritus

Rik Hansen

Rik Hansen

Faculty Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
M.A. University of Minnesota
B.A. University of Sioux Falls

James Johnson

Faculty Emeritus

Dennis R. Layne

Faculty Emeritus

Al Moore

Faculty Emeritus

Marcelyn Smale

Faculty Emeritus

Carmen Wilhite

Faculty Emeritus