Department of Music

Faculty and Staff

Staff

Dani Andersen

Dani Andersen

Administrative Assistant

(320) 308-3295 | 238 Performing Arts Center
dmandersen@stcloudstate.edu

VACANT

Office Administrative Specialist

(320) 308-3224 | 238 Performing Arts Center

Faculty

Kristen Bauer

Kristen Bauer

M.M. St. Mary's University
B.A. College of Saint Benedict/St. John's University

(320) 308-2285 | 147 Performing Arts Center
ktpatton@stcloudstate.edu
Music Education

Bio

Alexandra Berndt

D.M.A. University of Minnesota
M.M. New England Conservatory
B.M. Northwestern University, IL

(320) 308-2285 | 147 Performing Arts Center
adberndt@stcloudstate.edu
Bassoon

Bio

Jonathan Brandt

D.M.A. University of Minnesota
M.M. Rice University
B.M. University of Southern California

(320) 308-5928 | 135 Performing Arts Center
jrbrandt@stcloudstate.edu
Trumpet

Bio

Mark Breckinridge

Mark Breckinridge

Ph.D. University of North Texas
M.M. Central Michigan University

Catharine Bushman

Catharine Bushman

D.M.A. University of Texas - Austin
M.M. University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
B.M. Northwestern University

(320) 308-2082 | 227A Performing Arts Center
csbushman@stcloudstate.edu
http://www.catharinebushman.org
Wind Ensemble, Campus Band, Music Education, Music & World Culture (F20)

Bio

Patty Diederichs

Patty Diederichs

M.M. University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.M. St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-5928 | 135 Performing Arts Center
pldieder1@aol.com
French Horn

Bio

Patti Cudd

M.M. State University of New York, Buffalo
D.M.A. University of California, San Diego

Music in World Culture (SP 21)
Matthew Ferrell

Matthew Ferrell

D.M.A. University of Miami
M.M. Temple University
B.M. University of Hartford

(320) 308-2260 | 248A Performing Arts Center
maferrell@stcloudstate.edu
Choir, Women's Choir, Conducting, Music Fundamentals

Bio

Hugh Givens

Hugh Givens

D.M.A. West Virginia University
M.M. West Virginia University
A.B. Glenville State College

(320) 308-3275 | 244 Performing Arts Center
hgivens@stcloudstate.edu
Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, Men's Choir

Bio

Lauren Husting

Lauren Husting

M.A. University of North Texas
B.M. University of Wisconsin - Madison

(320) 308-4257 | 222 Performing Arts Center
lahusting@stcloudstate.edu
Trombone/Euphonium

Bio

Benjamin Mansavage Klein

Music Theory (SP 21)
Melissa Krause

Melissa Krause

Interim Department Chair
D.M. Florida State University
M.A. University of Minnesota
B.M. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

(320) 308-3283 | 245 Performing Arts Center
mkrause@stcloudstate.edu
http://melissa-krause.com/
Flute, Theory, Musicianship

Bio

Richard Manik

Richard Manik

M.M. Boston University
B.M.Duquesne University

(320) 308-2295 | 144 Performing Arts Center
rcmanik@stcloudstate.edu
Saxophone, History of Rock

Bio

Elizabeth McNutt

B.M. St Louis Conservatory
M.A. University of California, San Diego
D.M.A. University of California, San Diego

Applied Flute (SP 21)
Christopher Mechell

Christopher Mechell

D.M.A. University of Washington
M.M. Indiana University
B.M. Indiana University

(320) 308-4257 | 222 Performing Arts Center
cwmechell@stcloudstate.edu
Piano

Bio

Peter Meyer

Peter Meyer

M.A. St. Mary of the Woods College
B.A. University of Minnesota

(320) 308-2295 | 144 Performing Arts Center
pgmeyer@stcloudstate.edu
Guitar, Music Therapy

Bio

Scott Miller

Scott Miller

Ph.D. University of Minnesota
M.M. University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
B.A. SUNY - Oneonta

(320) 308-3291 | 246 Performing Arts Center
slmiller@stcloudstate.edu
Composition, New Media, Theory

Bio

Nancy Parker

Nancy Parker

Ph.D. University of Minnesota
M.A. Portland State University
B.A. Bethel University

(320) 308-2285 | 147 Performing Arts Center
naparker@stcloudstate.edu
Music Education

Bio

Jill Pattock

D.M.A. University of Missouri - Kansas City
M.M. Western Michigan University
B.S. St. Cloud State University

(320) 308-3270 | 146 Performing Arts Center
jmpattock@stcloudstate.edu
Clarinet

Bio

Shannon Sadler

Shannon Sadler

D.M.A. University of California - San Diego
M.M. New England Conservatory
B.M. University of Kansas

(320) 308-3272 | 242 Performing Arts Center
ssadler@stcloudstate.edu
http://www.shannonwettstein.com
Piano

Bio

Joel Salvo

Joel Salvo

D.M.A. University of Minnesota
M.M. University of Michigan
B.M. Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory of Music

(320) 308-2280 | 148 Performing Arts Center
jcsalvo@stcloudstate.edu
Cello, Bass

Bio

Kristian Twombly

Kristian Twombly

Administrative reassign for AY21
D.M.A. University of Maryland
B.M. University of Maryland

(320) 308-4703 | 248 Performing Arts Center
kmtwombly@stcloudstate.edu
http://kristiantwombly.com/
Composition

Bio

Terry Vermillion

Terry Vermillion

D.A. University of Northern Colorado
M.M. University of Northern Colorado
B.M. University of Montana

(320) 308-5237 | 133 Performing Arts Center
tvermillion@stcloudstate.edu
Percussion Studies

Bio

Catherine Verrilli

Catherine Verrilli

D.M.A. University of Maryland College Park
M.M. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
B.M. Shenandoah University

(320) 308-2259 | 247 Performing Arts Center
cverrilli@stcloudstate.edu
Voice, History, Humanities

Bio

Charles Wazanowski

Charles Wazanowski

M.M. Manhattan School of Music
B.M. Hartt School of Music

(320) 308-3022 | 135 Performing Arts Center
garmills@minn.net

Elizabeth York

D.M.A. Stony Brook University
M.M. Stony Brook University
B.M. East Carolina University

(320) 308-3289 | 249 Performing Arts Center
Violin, Viola, Chamber Music

Preparatory Program

Kevin Carlson

Kevin Carlson

Guitar Instructor

Deb Ferrell

Deb Ferrell

Voice Instructor
Director, Preparatory Program

(320) 308-3122 | 243 Performing Arts Center
dkferrell@stcloudstate.edu
Kay Nam

Kay Nam

Piano Instructor
Accompanist, Choristers

Kara Rysavy

Kara Rysavy

Artistic Director, Cantabile Girls’ Choir

Bonnie Sorensen-Ernst

Bonnie Sorensen-Ernst

Piano Instructor
M.M. Southern Methodist University
B.M. Saint Cloud State University

Irina Stene

Irina Stene

Piano Instructor

Emeriti

Mary Jo Bot

Faculty Emeritus
M.S. St. Cloud State University
B.S. St. Cloud State University

Charles Echols

Faculty Emeritus

Carroll Fisher

Carroll Fisher

Staff Emeritus

Kim Gast

Kim Gast

Faculty Emeritus
D.A. University of Northern Colorado
M.A. University of Denver
B.M.E. University of Denver

James Johnson

Faculty Emeritus

Marion Judish

Marion Judish

Faculty Emeritus
D.M.A. University of Minnesota
M.M. University of Minnesota
B.M. University of Colorado-Boulder

Violin, Viola, Orchestra, Humanities

Bio

Dennis R. Layne

Faculty Emeritus

Al Moore

Faculty Emeritus

Janelle Pederson

Janelle Pederson

Staff Emeritus

Marcelyn Smale

Faculty Emeritus

Carmen Wilhite

Faculty Emeritus