Leadership Institute

Imbra Innovative Leadership Award

This award recognizes dedicated professionals who demonstrate leadership and innovation in the field of higher education. The award honors the work of Christine M. Imbra, professor emerita of Higher Education Administration.

The 2020 recipient will be announced at the Leadership Institute March 31, 2020 at St. Cloud State.


As many as three finalists will be named. Finalists will be notified four weeks prior to the Spring Leadership Institute. Each finalist will receive free admission.

Finalists will receive special recognition during the conference. The award winner will receive free admission to the 2020 Spring Leadership Institute, and a trophy.


All higher education professionals in the state of Minnesota are eligible for nomination, regardless of department, unit or division. Nominees must be full-time employees with a minimum of two years of professional experience in higher education.


Nominees must demonstrate:

  1. Evidence of developing and implementing an innovative program, practice or service that improves the institution and supports students as leaders, scholars, researchers and/or community members.
  2. A strong commitment to excellence through leadership, scholarship and/or practice.


  • A nomination that articulates how the nominee meets the award criteria, along with the person's name, institution, job title, email address and phone number.

  • The nominee’s resume or curriculum vitae.

  • A letter of nomination from a colleague or supervisor indicating how the nominee meets the award criteria.

Nomination Process

The nomination process allows professionals to nominate themselves and others. Submit by Feb. 2nd to LeadershipInstitute@stcloudstate.edu