Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

About the Center


The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning fosters, supports and celebrates communities of scholars engaged in collaborative inquiry to achieve intellectual and personal growth.


The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning supports St. Cloud State University as a vibrant culture within which faculty, staff and students can be deeply engaged with the wider community in developing transformational and integrated experiences, skills and knowledge for a diverse and sustainable global environment.


In the fall of 1989, the Minnesota State University System earned a six-year Bush Foundation grant to support faculty development and improve undergraduate student learning. The grant stipulated that each university establish a center for teaching and learning.

In 1995, the Faculty Association approved the establishment of a center and the Academic Affairs Office agreed to fund basic operating expenses and a faculty director.


  • 2023-        Janet Tilstra, Associate Professor, Communication Sciences & Disorders
  • 2022-2023 Michelle Kukoleca Hammes, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
  • 2018-2022 Debra K. Japp, Professor of Communication Studies
  • 2017-2018 Steven M. Hoover, Professor of Counseling and Community Psychology  
  • 2016-2017 Lalita Subrahmanyan, Professor of Teacher Development
  • 2015-2016 Tracy Ore, Professor of Sociology
  • 2010-2015 Lalita Subrahmanyan, Professor of Teacher Development
  • 2007-2009 Daniel L. Wildeson, Professor of Communication Studies
  • 2004-2007 Frankie Condon, Professor of English
  • 2000-2004 Karen J. Thoms, Professor of Learning Resources and Technology Services
  • 1995-2000 Roseanna G. Ross, Professor of Communication Studies

Connect with SCSU