Department of Philosophy

Department of Philosophy


Department of Philosophy

365 Centennial Hall
St. Cloud State University
720 Fourth Avenue South
St. Cloud, Minnesota 56301
(320) 308-2234

philosophy@stcloudstate.edu

Faculty and Staff

Jordan L. Curnutt

Professor

320-308-4114 | Centennial Hall 365-E
jlcurnutt@stcloudstate.edu
Research interests: Ethics, Applied Ethics, Environmental Ethics

Kathleen A. Gill

Emeritus Professor

Research interests: Philosophy of History, Feminism

Carolyn G. Hartz

Professor

320-308-5160 | Centennial Hall 365-G
cghartz@stcloudstate.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, History of Philosophy

Carla A.H. Johnson

Professor

320-308-4110 | Centennial Hall 365-I
cajohnson@stcloudstate.edu
Research interests: Applied Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy

Omar A. Mirza

Associate Professor

320-308-5155 | Centennial Hall 365-C
oamirza@stcloudstate.edu
Research interests: Logic, Epistemology, Islamic Philosophy

Paul Neiman

Chairperson
Professor

320-308-6141 | Centennial Hall 365-A
pgneiman@stcloudstate.edu
Research interests: Social and Political Philosophy, Social Contract Theory, Business Ethics, Applied Ethics, Existentialism

Susana I. Nuccetelli

Professor

320-308-5372 | Centennial Hall 365-M
snuccetelli@stcloudstate.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language

Barbara Seefeldt

Office Manager

320-308-2234 | Centennial Hall 365-Q
bkseefeldt@stcloudstate.edu

Michael J. Shaffer

Professor

320-308-6685 | Centennial Hall 365-N
mjshaffer@stcloudstate.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Science, Logic, Epistemology

Kevin Sharpe

Professor

320-308-5316 | Centennial Hall 365-O
kwsharpe@stcloudstate.edu
Research interests: Metaphysics (especially the nature of human persons), Philosophy of Mind (with a focus on mental causation and the metaphysics of mind), Philosophical Theology

Casey Swank

Associate Professor

320-308-3848 | Centennial Hall 365-K
cswank@stcloudstate.edu
Research interest: Epistemology