Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL) (M.A., Licensure)

Faculty

Department of English

Choonkyoung Kim

Associate Professor
Ph. D. 1996, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

(320) 308-3245 | 101 51 Building
ckim@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Vocabulary acquisition, Psycholinguistic aspects of L2 learning, Reading in L2, writing in L2, ESL program evaluation, L2 Teacher education; Cross-linguistic phenomena, and Instructional strategies for teaching ESL; quantitative research; English, Korean, and Spanish.

Ettien Koffi

Professor
Ph.D. Linguistics, Indiana University

(320) 308-3539 | 261 51 Building
enkoffi@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Phonetics/phonology, sociolinguistics, language planning, Anyi language research.

John Madden

Associate Professor
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin

(320) 308-0910 | jpmadden@stcloudstate.edu
162 51 Building
Teaching and research areas: Second language comprehension, Computer-assisted language learning and digital literacy, second language acquisition, second language research methods, second language teaching methods.

James H. Robinson

Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University

(320) 308-4956 | 102 51 Building
jhrobinson@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Teaching English as a second language (TESL) methods and ESL, culture and ethnographic research in educational settings.

Details

Ed Sadrai

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University

(320) 308-3061 | 126 51 Building
emsadrai@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and Research areas: Information structure, morpho-syntax, sociolinguistics, second language acquisition.

Michael Schwartz

Assistant professor and Director of the Intensive English Center
Ph.D., University of New Mexico

(320) 308-3237 | 107 51 Building
mwschwartz@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: World English, second language writing, discourse analysis and teacher development.

Other Departments

Shawn Jarvis

Professor
Ph.D.

(320) 308-4141 | 119 Lawrence Hall
jarvis@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: 19th-century German women's fairy tales, language pedagogy, German language.

Isolde Mueller

Professor
Ph.D.

(320) 308-4142 | 120 Lawrence Hall
immueller@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: German language.

Ramon Serrano

Professor
Ph. D. 1994, Pennsylvania State University

(320) 308-5467 | A134 Education Building
raserrano@stcloudstate.edu
Teaching and research areas: Teacher Education.