CCS - MN Highway Safety and Research Center
55+ Driver Discount Program
Our 55+ Driver Discount Program (DDP) courses are approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety in accordance with Minnesota State Statute 65b.28 and will save you 10% on your auto insurance premiums! At the Minnesota Highway Safety and Research Center, we offer our courses through multiple options in order to fit our customer’s needs. Our online registration is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- Self-paced: Our online self-paced program is an individual course that you can complete at your own pace. Access is valid for 60 days after purchase and you may log in and out as many times as needed to complete the course, so it is flexible to fit your lifestyle! Each person must pay for and complete the course independently.
- Virtual Meeting: Go to class in your own living room! The live instructor-led course is great for those who want the traditional classroom experience but who enjoy the comfort of their own home. Each person must register and pay for the course separately to receive a certificate but up to two (2) people can participate in the live course on a single device. Use of a camera and microphone are required for this option.
- Classroom Training: Traditional in-person classes are offered all across Minnesota. Each person must register, pay, and participate for the duration of the class to receive a certificate.
For a printable PDF class schedule, click here.
Note: Completion of an eight-hour initial course qualifies you for the insurance discount. Completion of a four-hour refresher every three years after this initial course enables you to maintain that insurance discount.
Choose a learning environment:
Eight-hour course: $27.95
Four-hour refresher: $23.95
All courses include certificate upon completion. Individuals must register separately.
Eight-hour course: $28
Four-hour refresher: $24
All courses include certificate upon completion.