Department of Accounting


Accounting professor Kathleen Mooney in a Centennial Hall classroom

Certified Public Accountant (CPA)

Becoming a CPA in Minnesota is a multi-step process. You must meet the education requirements, pass the CPA exam, pass an ethics exam, gain the required experience and then apply for a certificate. The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) is a global association that serves the profession.

Certified Management Accountant (CMA)

The CMA is an advanced licensure granted by the IMA, a worldwide assocation of accountants and financial professionals in business. The CMA certifies skills in financial planning, analysis, control, decision support and professional ethics.

Certified Internal Auditor (CIA)

The CIA is an advanced licensure granted by The Institute of Internal Auditors, an international association of professionals. CIA-certified accountants manage independent, objective, assurance-and-consulting activities.

Other certificates

  • ISACA offers the CISA, CISM, CGIT and CRISC certificates that affirm information systems and information technology proficiency
  • The Chartered Global Management Accountant certification is backed by AICPA and the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants

Connect with SCSU