Community Psychology, Counseling and Family Therapy

Faculty and Staff

Staff

Jill Janish

Jill Janish

  • Office Manager
Michael Libby

Michael Libby

  • Rehabilitation Studies Grant Director

320-308-4750 | A259 Education Building
michael.libby@stcloudstate.edu

Faculty

Khadija Ali

Khadija Ali

  • Assistant Professor
  • Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision, Wayne State University

320-308-4813 | A261 Education Building
kali@stcloudstate.edu

Aeriel A. Ashlee

Aeriel A. Ashlee

  • Assistant Professor
  • Ph.D. in Student Affairs in Higher Education, Miami University of Ohio

320-308-4169 | A270 Education Building
aeriel.ashlee@stcloudstate.edu

Thea Baker

Thea Baker

  • Associate Professor
  • Ph.D in School Counseling, University of Florida

320-308-2992 | A281 Education Building
tdbaker@stcloudstate.edu

Erin Berzins

Erin Berzins

  • Assistant Professor
  • Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision from Antioch University Seattle
  • LMHC, Washington State
  • Clinical focus are interpersonal trauma, attachment, and emotional overcontrol.  She has worked extensively with kids and adolescents, as well as in eating disorder care.
Susan Parault Dowds

Susan Parault Dowds

  • Associate Professor
  • Ph.D. in Educational Psychology, University of Georgia
  • Literacy, language development

320-308-2078 | A276 Education Building
spdowds@stcloudstate.edu

Amy Hebert Knopf

Amy Hebert Knopf

  • Associate Professor
  • Ph.D. in Rehabilitation Counseling, University of Arkansas
  • Deaf, hard of hearing, women and disability, and disability within the LGBT population.

320-308-3209 | A263 Education Building
ahknopf@stcloudstate.edu

Byung Jin Kim

Byung Jin Kim

  • Fixed Term Professor
  • Ph.D. Rehabilitation Counseling, University of Kentucky

320-308-2182 | A263 Education Building
byungjin.kim@stcloudstate.edu

Brad Kuhlman

Brad Kuhlman

  • Associate Professor
  • Ph.D. in Rehabilitation Psychology, University of Iowa, 1992

320-308-1685 | A262 Education Building
bkuhlman@stcloudstate.edu

Bill Lepkowski

Bill Lepkowski

  • Professor
  • Department Co-Chair, Community Psychology, Counseling and Family Therapy
  • Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision, University of Nevada
  • Best-practices for school counselors, play therapy, mental health issues in children and adolescents, legal and ethical issues in school counseling.

320-308-5280 | A273 Education Building
wjlepkowski@stcloudstate.edu

Odessa Luna

Odessa Luna

  • Assistant Professor
  • Ph.D in Cognitive and Behavioral Sciences, Auburn University, 2019
  • Staff training, treatment integrity, behavioral intervention

320-308-4167 | A266 Education Building
odluna@stcloudstate.edu

Daniel P. Macari

Daniel P. Macari

  • Professor
  • Department Co-Chair, Community Psychology, Counseling and Family Therapy
  • College Counseling

320-308-2160 | A269 Education Building
dpmacari@stcloudstate.edu

Kathryn Mayhew

Kathryn Mayhew

  • Associate Professor
  • Ph.D., in Life Span Development Psychology, Iowa State University, 1997

320-308-3288 | A271 Education Building
kpmayhew@stcloudstate.edu

Michael E. Mayhew

Michael E. Mayhew

  • Professor
  • Ph.D. in Marital & Family Therapy, Iowa State University
  • Community psychology; marriage and family therapy; reconciliation of human differences within simple, complex, and technological systems amid a rapidly changing industrial world; social and emotional learning; and school-family partnerships.

320-308-5457 | B235 Education Building
memayhew@stcloudstate.edu

Nicholas Newstrom

Nicholas Newstrom

  • Assistant Professor
  • MFT, Program Director
  • Ph.D. In Family Social Science, Couple & Family Therapy Specialization from U of MN.
  • Research interests include human sexuality and sexual violence (sexual consent behaviors), and R statistics (structural equation modeling; EFA/CFA).

Rose Stark-Rose

Rose Stark-Rose

  • Professor, Licensed Psychologist
  • PhD. In Urban Education, specialization in counseling psychology (APA accredited) University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Areas of specialization include adults with eating disorders, body image challenges, mood disorders, and complex trauma. 
Tina M. Sacin

Tina M. Sacin

  • Professor
  • Clinical Mental Health Faculty
  • Ph.D. in Counselor Education, University of Central Florida
  • Trauma (EMDR), Couples where one/both are survivor of trauma, Group counseling, Grief and Loss, Social Justice in Counseling, Supervision in Counselor Training, Cultural Fluency
Michele Traub

Michele Traub

  • Associate Professor
  • Ph.D. in Psychology, University of Florida
  • Applied behavior analysis, school consultation, developmental disabilities, preventive health behavior/cancer detection.

320-308-2043 | B245 Education Building
mtraub@stcloudstate.edu

Barbara N. Vesely

Barbara N. Vesely

  • Professor
  • Ph.D. in clinical psychology, University of North Dakota
  • On-line learning, lifelong learners, clinical psychology, chemical dependency, community psychology.

320-308-2160 | B244 Education Building
bnvesely@stcloudstate.edu

Ben Witts

Ben Witts

  • Associate Professor
  • Ph.D. in Behavior Analysis, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Applied behavior analysis, gambling, theoretical/conceptual/philosophical issues

320-308-2233 | B246 Education Building
bnwitts@stcloudstate.edu

Connect With Us