

SCTCC to SCSU

Transfer Guide - Bachelor of Arts in Political Science

Transfer Process

All transfer students seeking a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science should follow the admission procedures located on the following website in order to be admitted to St. Cloud State University (SCSU): www.stcloudstate.edu/transfer More information can be found in the University Catalog.

The following Political Science major courses transfer from St. Cloud Technical and Community College (SCTCC) to SCSU:

SCTCC Course	SCSU Course
POLS 1304 Introduction to American Politics (Goal 5 & 9)	POL 111 American National Government
POLS 1320 Public Issues (Goal 5 & 9)	POL Transfer
POLS****	POL Transfer

The following courses are *suggested* for particular MnTC Goals:

SCTCC Course	SCSU Course
ENGL 1302 Analytical Writing (Goal 1W) OR ENGL 2302 Argument & Research (Goal 1W) OR ENGL 2304 Advanced Argument & Research Writing (Goal 1W)	ENGL 191 Intro to Rhetorical & Analytical Writing
CMST 1320 Intro to Communication Studies (Goal 1S)	CMST 192 Intro to Communication Studies

It is recommended that students take these courses as a part of the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum (MnTC) or Associate in Arts (AA) degree.

If a student completes a Goal within the MnTC, the same Goal will be complete at SCSU once transferred.

Additional Requirements to Consider when Degree Planning:

- Completion of 10 Goals (40 credits) in the MnTC (known as the Liberal Education Program at SCSU)
- 40 upper-division credits (300-400 level coursework) are required to graduate from SCSU
- Completion of three Diversity courses. (Maybe adjusted depending on the amount of transfer credits). One Diversity course must be an approved Racial Issues Graduation Requirement (RIGR) course (see Goal 7 for RIGR courses)
- Complete Residency Requirement. 30 credits must be earned at SCSU
- Earn a minimum of 120 credits to graduate with a bachelor's degree
- Students with the Political Science major are required to complete a minor, second major, or one year of a foreign language.

Please refer to www.transferology.com for up-to-date information on course equivalencies.

Department of Political Science

Chair: Dr. Jim Cottrill
Email: mailto:jcottrill@stcloudstate.edu

Website: www.stcloudstate.edu/politicalscience
Phone: 320.308.3016

Building: Ruby Cora Webster Hall Room 328

School of Public Affairs

Student Relations Director: Dr. Kristy Modrow Email: kkmodrow@stcloudstate.edu

Phone: 320.308.6080

Building: Stewart Hall 363

NOTE: The information in this guide is subject to change without notice.

Updated 6/8/2022