Jan 31, 1997

MEMBERS PRESENT:* Shahzad Ahmad, Dick Andzenge, Jo Ann Asquith, Mike Baker, Brad Chisholm, Bruce Ellis, Yvonne Getchell, Mike Hayman, Jeanne Hites, Richard Johnson, Rich Josephson, Bill Langen
Kathleen Maloney, Denise McGuire, Lu Meemken, Kate Mooney, Jim Pehler, Sue Pope, Lora Robinson, Greg Scherber, Gretchen Starks-Martin, Rubin Stenseng, Annette Wilson

STAFF:* Sandy Isberner, Karen Schmid, Steve Ludwig

GUESTS: President Bruce Grube and Vice President Gene Gilchrist

*Those present are underlined.

The meeting was called to order by President Grube.

  1. Minutes
    The minutes dated January 7th, 10th, 24th and 28th were accepted as distributed.
  2. Open Meetings
    The schedule for the four meetings was announced: 2/14/97 at 9:00 a.m., Centennial Hall 100, 2/14/97 at 3:00 p.m., Centennial Hall 100; 2/20/97 at 5:00 p.m. as part of the Student Government meeting; and 2/20/97 at 10:30 p.m. President Grube will attend all meetings except the 10:30 p.m. meeting, which will be attended by Vice President Gilchrist.
  3. President Grube again thanked the committee for all their work and time.
  4. President Grube told the committee that the North Central group liked what the committee was doing. They felt the committee was moving forward.
  5. President Grube's latest draft response had been mailed to committee members prior to the January 31st meeting. President Grube and the committee members discussed where do we go from here, with many suggestions on the next phase of strategic planning. The main concern committee members had was what would become of the committee as we know it go. Vice President Gilchrist suggested the new committee be comprised of no more than 60% new members. Also, there could be sub-committees working on focused issues overlapping with large group. It was suggested that all themes need to be addressed. We don't want to give impression of ranking in order of importance.
  6. Next meeting
    The January 31st meeting was the last regularly scheduled meeting for the Strategic Planning Committee.