Department of Mass Communications


Accreditation by ACEJMC distinguishes St. Cloud State's Department of Mass Communications as one of the Midwest's top programs.

And each year, our students show how good they are by winning major state, regional and national awards for their work in our campus outlets and organizations.

What does it mean?

ACEJMC is the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, which evaluates professional journalism and mass communications programs in colleges and universities.

Every six years, St. Cloud State's department conducts a self-assessment and is visited by an accreditation team for evaluation in nine different areas, including:

  • Curriculum and instruction
  • Diversity and inclusiveness
  • Resources, facilities and equipment
  • Student services

The department's ACEJMC accreditation assures our students they are getting outstanding education and have access to the faculty and resources they need to be successful. It also has earned the department respect in the media industry, where our students have a reputation for being well trained, well-educated and ready to excel professionally.

Diversity Statement

The Mass Communications Department fully and actively supports the universities initiatives for diversity.

We are committed to providing the equality of education and employment opportunities to all persons regardless of race, color, creed, sex, age, religion, marital status, sexual orientation, national origin, mental or physical disability, status with regard to public assistance or physical disability, or any other group or class against which discrimination is prohibited by state or federal law.

The department does not tolerate any activity that constitutes illegal discrimination against any person or group.

Within its academic mission, the department also seeks to provide an environment that acknowledges and values diversity of all kinds, including but not limited to race, religion, and ethnicity, amongst its faculty, staff, and students. In fact, we have integrated diversity and inclusiveness into all of our courses and we have two courses devoted entirely to diversity, prejudice, racism, and globalization in media.

Professional Advisory Panel

To help the program ensure that it is providing the most relevant and up-to-date education for our students, the department has partnered with top leaders and professionals in the various disciplines of mass communications. Having access to working professionals and innovators in the field allows the program to not only keep up with the latest development within mass communications, but look to the future and develop cutting edge curriculum to make our students as competitive in a fast changing media environment.

Professional Advisory Panel

  • Dan Barth, Owner, Pioneer Teleproductions
  • Mark Barth, Owner, Pioneer Teleproductions
  • John Bodette, Managing Editor, St. Cloud Times Newspaper
  • Perry Finelli, Reporter/Anchor, Minnesota Public Radio
  • Jill Griep, Project Manager, Peter Hill Design
  • Tim Hennagir, Editor, ECM Newspapers
  • Dave Jensch, Vice President/Station Manager, Northland News Center
  • Kari Kloster, Writer/Producer/Director, Page Productions
  • John Lauritsen, Reporter, WCCO-TV
  • Ryan Lutzka, Consumer Engagement Planner, Carmichael Lynch
  • Chris Werle, Weber Shandwick
  • Greg Kolbjornsen, President, Quarterton Productions
  • Daniel Bergin, Documentary Producer, Twin Cities Public Television
  • Myron Medcalf, Reporter, ESPN
  • Becky Beyers, PR, University of Minnesota
  • Joel Swanson, President, Risdall Communications
  • Chris Crutchfield, Attorney, Ramsey County
  • Rene Kaluza, Journalist, St. Cloud Times
  • J.J. Murray, Executive Director, Upper Midwest Emmys
  • Todd Vaske, Producer, Dreamworks Studio