# DEDICATION PROGRAM

Beth Porter Garvey Commons John W. Headley Hall Helen Hill Hall



Stewart Hall Auditorium October 12, 1963 11 a.m. ST. CLOUD STATE COLLEGE



Aerial view of the St. Cloud State College campus taken in the Spring of 1963.

### Brief history of St. Cloud State College

St. Cloud State College first opened its doors in 1869 when the State Legislature converted a St. Cloud landmark known as the Stearns House from a hotel into Minnesota's third normal school. Until 1898, the school was mainly a secondary school with few college students. Then a junior college program was added and, in 1914, the high school curriculum was dropped entirely. In 1921, the Legislature allowed the school to change its name to St. Cloud State Teachers College. Although initially intended to be exclusively a teacher training institution, the college found it necessary to add a four-year liberal arts curriculum and a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1946. The Legislature, in 1957, dropped "Teachers" from the title, and thus the college achieved its present name.

In the 94 years since its modest beginnings, the college has grown steadily to help meet the state's increasing needs in higher education. From a school with one building, five faculty members and 53 students, St. Cloud has developed into a college with a multi-million dollar physical plant, some 250 faculty members and more than 4,000 full-time students. During the coming two-year period, six major buildings will be constructed on the college campus. Full-time enrollment is expected to reach 8,000 by 1970.

Four-year degrees are now offered in 36 areas of concentration and 15 fields are open for pre-professional study. Master of science degrees are awarded to students who successfully complete a fifth year of graduate work.

## Dedication Ceremonies

Organ Selections Dianne Schoenheider
The National Anthem Audience
"The Star Spangled Banner"
Selections College Choir Ensemble Harvey Waugh, Director
Welcome President George F. Budd
From the Alumni Mrs. Elinor Detra President, Alumni Association
Dedications President George F. Budd
BETH PORTER GARVEY COMMONS
JOHN W. HEADLEY HALL
HELEN HILL HALL
Dedication of Hayden and Joyner Dining Rooms Mrs. Elinor Detra
Address
College Hymn Audience Harvey Waugh, Director

The three buildings dedicated today and other major campus buildings are open for your inspection. Representatives of the faculty and student body are in Garvey Commons, Headley Hall and Hill Hall to welcome you and conduct tours. You are invited to visit the buildings before 2 p.m.

### BUILDINGS DEDICATED



JOHN W. HEADLEY HALL. Completed in the spring of 1963, Headley Hall is a classroom building for the departments of industrial arts and art. It was constructed at a cost of \$717,527. Headley Hall is a two-story brick and concrete structure which provides 34,500 square feet of floor space. It contains industrial arts shops, lecture rooms, conference rooms, art studio, gallery, workrooms and offices. It is the newest academic building to be completed on the campus. **BETH PORTER GARVEY COMMONS.** This new \$549,641 food service building was opened for use in the summer of 1963. Part of a proposed residence hall complex designed to house some 1,600 students, Garvey Commons replaces the familiar Stewart Hall Cafeteria. Garvey Commons features two food service counters, two private dining rooms and a 450-seat dining hall which is completely separated from the food preparation and dishwashing areas. An addition to Garvey Commons is planned for 1964.





**HELEN HILL HALL.** Hill Hall is the first unit in a new residence hall complex which ultimately will include nine major buildings. Constructed at a cost of \$664,132, Hill Hall houses 200 women students. The building is a four-story brick structure and has an attached lounge and office area. An addition, also housing 200 women, is now under construction. It is scheduled for completion in the fall of 1964.

#### The People Behind the Names



Beth Porter Garvey served on the St. Cloud State College faculty for 28 years, 1925 to 1953. She was the college's first dean of women and served in that capacity from the time of her employment. Mrs. Garvey was born in LeRoy, Minnesota, on January 1, 1892. She attended Carleton College and the University of Minnesota. Prior to 1925, she served in administrative posts at LeRoy High School, Ortonville High School and Albert Lea High School. Retired since 1953, Mrs. Garvey is now living in Redlands, California.

**Beth Porter Garvey** 

John W. Headley was the 12th president of St. Cloud State College, serving from 1947 to 1952. A native of South Dakota, Dr. Headley was president of Mayville State Teachers College in Mayville, North Dakota, before coming to St. Cloud. During his tenure as president of St. Cloud State College, the college experienced a period of rapid enrollment and curriculum expansion. Dr. Headley resigned in 1952 to accept the presidency of South Dakota State College, Brookings, South Dakota. He was killed in a hunting accident in 1957.



John W. Headley



Helen Hill

Helen Hill joined the St. Cloud State College faculty in 1915. She had held positions at high schools in Buffalo and St. Cloud. A member of the college faculty for 37 years, Miss Hill organized the College Chronicle, student newspaper, and served as adviser to the Chronicle, senior class and Minerva society. She also headed a faculty publicity committee and was a member of the publications board. She served without pay as executive secretary to the Alumni Association from her retirement in 1952 until last year. Miss Hill was born in St. Cloud in 1884. She resides near the campus and still is an active member of the Alumni Association. President George F. Budd

Dr. George F. Budd has been President of St. Cloud State College since 1952. A native of Oswego, New York, he received a B.S. degree at Buffalo State Teachers College and M.A. and Ed.D. degrees in curriculum and administration of higher education at Columbia University.

He has been an elementary teacher and administrator in New York and a guidance director at Cortland, New York State Teachers College. He also has been state director of teacher education in Washington and coordinator of field services at Oneonta, New York State Teachers College.

Nationally, Dr. Budd is a member of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education. He also is a member of the NCATE Visitation and Appraisal Committee and the Public Relations Committee of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.

Dr. Budd will visit India during November to study higher education. He traveled in Europe and Russia during the summer of 1959 on a Columbia University study tour in comparative education.

Presently, Dr. Budd is active as a director of the North Star Research and Development Institute and as a trustee of Midwestern Educational Television, Inc. He also participates in various civic and religious activities.

During his tenure as president, St. Cloud State College has experienced an enrollment growth from 1,100 to 4,300.

#### PAST PRESIDENTS OF ST. CLOUD STATE COLLEGE

 Ira Moore
 1869-1875

 David Kiehle
 1875-1882

 Jerome Allen
 1882-1884

 Thomas Gray
 1884-1890

 James Carhart
 1890-1895

 George Kleberger
 1895-1902

 Waite Shoemaker
 1902-1914

 Isabel Lawrence
 1914-1916

 Joseph Brown
 1916-1927

 George Selke
 1927-1943

 D. S. Brainard
 1943-1947

 John W. Headley
 1947-1952



