U Choose - St. Cloud State University

Resources

 

Higher Education Center

NIAAA

SAMHSA

US Department of Education

Important Documents:

A Call to Action: Changing the Culture of Drinking at U.S. Colleges

General Info:

Join Together: www.jointogether.org/
Facts on Tap: http://www.factsontap.org/
HBO Addiction: http://www.hbo.com/addiction/
http://www.bacchusnetwork.org/
Columbia University's health advice for Students. Go Ask Alice www.goaskalice.org
Drug Help www.drughelp.org
National Institute on Drug Abuse www.drugabuse.gov/drugpages
National Poison Control: 1/800-222-1222
Recovery Schools www.recoveryschools.org/schools.htm#colleges
Sex, Etc www.sexetc.org
Overeaters Anonymous www.oa.org/index.htm
Cocaine Anonymous www.ca.org
American Council for Drug Education - www.acde.org
Association for Medical Education and Research in Substance Abuse (AMERSA) - www.amersa.org
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention - prevention.samhsa.gov
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment - www.samhsa.gov/about/csat.aspx
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - www.cdc.gov
Drug Enforcement Administration - www.dea.gov
DRUG HELP - www.drughelp.org
Drug Strategies - www.drugstrategies.org
National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information - www.health.org
National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence - www.ncadd.org
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration - www.nhtsa.dot.gov
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism - www.niaaa.nih.gov
National Institute on Drug Abuse - www.nida.nih.gov
Office of National Drug Control Policy - www.whitehousedrugpolicy.gov
Partnership for a Drug-Free America - www.drugfree.org
Suicide Prevention: www.ulifeline.org
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration - www.samhsa.gov
Jed Foundation: www.jedfoundation.org
Emotional Help at College: www.transitionyear.org

Treatment:

Treatment Locator Database www.findtreatment.samhsa.gov
Get Help at Phoenix House www.phoenixhouse.org/Foundation/GetHelp
Substance Abuse Treatment Facility Locator: A resource from the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Lists treatment programs in every state. www.findtreatment.samhsa.gov
Therapeutic Communities of America www.tcanet.org

Support:

Alcoholics Anonymous www.alcoholics-anonymous.org
Children of Alcoholics Foundation www.coaf.org
Adult Children of Alcoholics World Service www.adultchildren.org
Alanon-Alateen www.al-anon.alateen.org
Alcoholics Anonymous www.alcoholics-anonymous.org
Families Anonymous www.familiesanonymous.org
Jewish Alcoholics, Chemically Dependent Persons and Significant Others (JACS) www.jacsweb.org
Marijuana Anonymous www.marijuana-anonymous.org
Narcotics Anonymous www.na.org
National Association For Children Of Alcoholics (NACoA)  www.nacoa.net

Community:

MN - Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division
http://www.dps.state.mn.us/alcgamb/alcgamb.aspx

Screening Tools:

Alcohol Screening Org: http://www.alcoholscreening.org/
E-chug: http://interwork.sdsu.edu/echug2/STCLOUD/
E-toke: http://interwork.sdsu.edu/etoke/STCLOUD

Faculty/Staff/Counselors:

Higher Education Center: http://www.higheredcenter.org/
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/
Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism's College Drinking Prevention www.collegedrinkingprevention.gov
American Council for Drug Education www.acde.org

SCSU Resources:

PACC: http://www.stcloudstate.edu/pacc/
Counseling & Psychological Services: www.stcloudstate.edu/counseling
Student Health Services: http://www.stcloudstate.edu/healthservices/
Code of Conduct: http://www.stcloudstate.edu/studenthandbook/code/default.asp
Chemical Dependency Program: http://www.stcloudstate.edu/elcp/graduate/cd/contents.asp
Human Resources Policy on Drugs and Alcohol: http://www.stcloudstate.edu/humanresources/documents/DrugandAlcohol.pdf
Student Organization Alcohol Policy: http://www.stcloudstate.edu/csold/studentorganizations/manual/alcohol.asp
Homecoming & National Collegiate Alcohol Awareness Week
Homecoming & NCAAW Presentation - short version
Homecoming & NCAAW Presentation - long version
Homecoming PowerPoint Survey

Links for Parents

A Parent's Guide for the Prevention of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Use: A resource for parents of students at independent schools, developed by Community of Concern. www.thecommunityofconcern.org
Eight Points for Parents: A guide by College Parents of America to help parents talk with their child about drinking. www.collegeparents.org/eighttalkingpoints
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism's College Drinking Prevention: www.collegedrinkingprevention.gov/reports/Parents/default.aspx
Parents The Anti Drug: www.theantidrug.com
Partnership for a Drug-Free America- Resources for Parents www.drugfree.org/Parent
Substance Abuse Treatment Facility Locator: A resource from the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Lists treatment programs in every state. www.findtreatment.samhsa.gov
Alcohol, Other Drugs, and College: A Parent's Guide by the Higher Education Center: http://www.higheredcenter.org/pubs/parents.html

Prevention Links

College Drinking Prevention: A resource from the National Institutes on Alcoholism and Alcohol Abuse. www.collegedrinkingprevention.gov
Department of Education's Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse and Violence Prevention - www.edc.org/hec
Facts on Tap - www.factsontap.org
Findings and Recommendations for More Effective Drug Education for Youth: Honesty, Respect and Assistance When Needed.
Leadership to Keep Children Alcohol Free www.alcoholfreechildren.org
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) "A Call to Action: Changing the Culture of Drinking at U.S. Colleges."  www.edc.org/hec/niaaa/report.html
National Social Norms Resource Center - www.socialnorms.org
U.S. Department of Education - www.ed.gov
National Association of Student Personnel Administrators Alcohol and Other Drug Knowledge Community - www.naspa.org/communities/kc/community.cfm?kcid=21
Transitional Issues for College Bound Students
Alcohol, Cigarettes, and Marijuana Lead the Top Ten List of Drugs Used by U.S. High School Seniors in Past Month
Brain Immaturity Could Explain Teen Crash Rate
Brain Research: The Effects Of Alcohol On The Adolescent Brain
The Network

National Surveys

The Harvard School of Public Health College Alcohol Study (CAS) - www.hsph.harvard.edu/cas
The Core Institute (CORE), Southern Illinois - www.siu.edu/departments/coreinst/public_html
Monitoring the Future (MTF) - www.monitoringthefuture.org
The National Health Risk Behavior Survey: Youth Risk Behavioral Surveillance, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/00049859.htm
The National Household Survey on Drug Abuse (NHSDA), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) - oas.samhsa.gov/nhsda.htm
American College Health Association - National College Health Survey: www.acha.org
CASA Study - National Survey of American Attitudes on Substance Abuse X: Teens and Parents
Drug Abuse Warning Network - DAWN Data - www.drugabuse.gov/DESPR/Assessing/Guide7.html

Created by The Division of Student Life and Development with support from the Office of the Provost
Untitled Document