"One isn't necessarily born with courage, but one is born with potential. Without courage, we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can't be kind, true, merciful, generous, or honest."

Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

2016-2017 Miller Scholars Program

The Miller Scholars Program was established by the generous donation of James W. and Marion Miller, and co-sponsored by St. Cloud State University’s Office of Academic Affairs.  This prestigious program is designed to recognize and support faculty members who have established a demonstrated record of motivation, excellence, and leadership in teaching and learning.  

The over arching goal of the St. Cloud State University Miller Scholar Awards Program is to reward faculty innovation and enhance student learning.

A St. Cloud State University Miller Scholar is one who proposes and implements a high quality project that will take his or her demonstrated track record in teaching and learning to a significantly higher level.

The recipients of the Miller Scholar Award, a maximum of two faculty members, will receive the following:

  • A certificate of recognition from the President of St. Cloud State University at a special ceremony during the Fall Convocation CETL Teaching and Learning Fair.

  • A budget of $10,000 each (for a maximum of two projects) to be used for the implementation of a Miller Scholar Project that is focused on teaching excellence for student success using the framework of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning.

  • Administrative support from the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning for implementing the proposed project.

A Miller Scholar may be supported in the project by a team of peer collaborators, students, and others.


Click here for an application, however the application window does not open until September 26, 2016.


FLC Logo

Professional Faculty Development & Collaboration Opportunities


CETL is now seeking participants

for the new 2016 – 2017 FLC and CoPs


CETL is proud to announce the approval of the 2016-2017 Faculty Learning Communities and Communities of Practice. We are now extending the opportunity to participate in these CoPs and FLCs to faculty and instructional staff. Applications for the FLCs and CoPs are embedded below each description. Please send all completed applications to CETL.

To access the participation form, click the link under the description of your choice of FLC or CoP.


Faculty and Professional Learning Community

  • FLC A: Assessing the Impact of Anti-Racist Pedagogy Across the Curriculum (ARPAC)

    Facilitators: Melissa Prescott, Darlene St. Clair, Debra Leigh & Kyoko Kishimoto

    • Objective: To assess the impact of the Anti-Racist Pedagogy Across the Curriculum (ARPAC) project on faculty participants and students who enroll in course taught by faculty participants.
    • FLCA-MemberApp


  • FLC B: Common Reading Program

     Fascilitators: Jennifer Quinlan (LRS), Shannon Olsen (English), Beth Berila (Ethnic and Women’s Studies), Darlene St. Clair (Darlene St. Clair), Christina Metzo

    • Objective: The project for the FLC as a collective will be to develop and conduct book talks and faculty development materials and workshops to support teaching of the common reading book, particularly in introductory level courses and first year seminars.


Communities of Practice

  • CoP A: Anti-Racist Pedagogy

    Facilitators: Darlene St. Clair & Melissa Prescott
    • Focus Area: Support faculty who have previously participated in the Anti-Racist Pedagogy Across the Curriculum (ARPAC) Project.
    • CoPA-MemberApp

  • CoP B: Reflections on Teaching: Cultural Diversity

    Facilitator: Deola Brumbaugh-Johnson
    • Focus Area: This CoP will look at how self-reflective practice will benefit students. In addition, it will analyze teaching experience as it relates to cultural diversity. In doing so, faculty involved in this CoP will find ways to improve and incorporate the best teaching practices within their curriculum.
    • CoPB-MemberApp

  • CoP C: Creating a Caring Culture: Confronting Bullying at SCSU

    Facilitators: Rachel Wexelbaum, Mary Clifford, Tom Hergert, Mark Jaede, Frances Kayona, Debra Leigh & Alex Palacco
    • Focus Areas: Anti-bullying education, interpersonal skill development, conflict resolution, organizational change, Husky Compact, campus climate assessment, safe spaces, diversity training, personal empowerment, and mindfulness.
    • CoPC-MemberApp