Student Concern Process - Where to go for help with Student Concerns

Academic Concern Process

SCSU’s mission is to provide a quality academic experience. The vast majority of students have a quality academic experience. When there are problems we have specific processes to respect the rights and responsibilities of faculty and students.

Academic concerns are either handled at the department/college level or through the University College.

Department or College: Sometimes there are problems with class schedules, the integrity of the courses, and programs available for students. For these issues your faculty member is the best resource. If they are unable to help, another resource is the Student Relations Coordinator for the appropriate college or school. For formal complaints and grade appeals you can speak to the Student Services Coordinator or the department chair.

University College: Students in need of advising or with concerns about academic warnings and suspensions should contact the Assistant Provost for Student Success. A student can file appeals, seek advising, and find the Online Student Handbook at the University College as well.

Academic Concern Process

Nature of Concern:

Grades
Academic Integrity
Courses
Programs
Faculty

Center of Continuing Studies
John Burgeson, Dean
Brown Hall 312A
jcburgeson@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-3081

College of Liberal Arts
Mark Springer, Dean
Kiehle Visual Arts Center 111
mspringer@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-3093

College of Liberal Arts
Raymond Philippot, Associate Dean
Kiehle Visual Arts Center 110
raphilippot@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-3093

College of Science & Engineering
Dan Gregory, Interim Dean
Robert H. Wick Science Building 145
ddgregory@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-2192

College of Science & Engineering
School of Computing, Engineering and Environment
Adel Ali, Associate Dean
Robert H. Wick Science Building 145
alali@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-2192

Herberger Business School
Diana Lawson, Dean
Centennial Hall 118
drlawson@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-3213

Herberger Business School
Kerry Marrer, Director of Undergraduate Programs & Assessment   
Centennial Hall 118C
KEMarrer@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-4056

Learning Resources
Mark Vargas, Dean
James W. Miller Learning Resources Center, 108
mavargas@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-2084

School of Education
Osman Alawiye, Dean
Education Building A110
awawiyeo@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-3023

School of Graduate Studies
Patricia Hughes, Associate Provost for Research and Interim Dean
Administrative Services 121
pahughes@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-5468

School of Health & Human Services
Monica Devers, Dean
Steward Hall 365
mcdevers@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-4894

School of Public Affairs
Orn Bodvarsson, Dean
Whitney House 101
obbodvarsson@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-2225

University College
Miguel Martinez-Saenz, Dean, University College and Associate Provost for Student Success
Centennial Hall 233
mmartinezsaenz@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-5272

Nature of Concern:

Academic Suspension

University College
Nancy Mills, Assistant Dean, University College and Assistant Provost for Student Success
Centennial Hall 209
nfmills@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-4913

Nature of Concern:

Internships

Career Services
Bobbi Murphy, Internship Coordinator
215 Centennial Hall
ramurphy@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-2151
Internship Information including MnSCU Internship Form (pdf)

Untitled Document