Philosophy Faculty & Staff

Department Phone: 320-308-2234
Department Fax: 320-308-2090
Department Address:
Centennial Hall 365, 720 4th Ave. S.
St. Cloud State University
St. Cloud, MN  56301-4498

Sarah Conrad

Conrad, Sarah M.
Assistant Professor of Philosophy (2014-2015)
Office: Centennial Hall 365-H
Phone: 320-308-5326 E-mail: smconrad@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Environmental Justice, Applied Ethics, Social and Political Theory

jordan

Curnutt, Jordan L.
Professor of Philosophy
Office: Centennial Hall 365-E
Phone: 320-308-4114 E-mail: jlcurnutt@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Ethics, Applied Ethics, Environmental Ethics

kate

Gill, Kathleen A.
Professor of Philosophy
Office: Centennial Hall 365-A
Phone: 320-308-5154
E-mail: kagill@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Philosophy of History, Feminism

carolyn

Hartz, Carolyn G.
Professor of Philosophy
Office: Centennial Hall 365-G
Phone: 320-308-5160
E-mail: cghartz@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, History of Philosophy

carla

Johnson, Carla A.H.
Professor of Philosophy
Office: Centennial Hall 365-I
Phone: 320-308-4110
E-mail: cajohnson@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Applied Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy

omar

Mirza, Omar A.
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Office: Centennial Hall 365-C
Phone: 320-308-5155
E-mail: oamirza@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Logic, Epistemology, Islamic Philosophy

paul

Neiman, Paul
Associate Professor of Philosophy; Interim Chairperson, 2014-2015
Office: Centennial Hall 365-D
Phone: 320-308-6141
E-mail: pgneiman@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Political Philosophy, Social Philosophy, Ethics

Susana

Nuccetelli, Susana I.
Professor of Philosophy
Office: Centennial Hall 365-M
Phone: 320-308-5372
E-mail: snuccetelli@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language

barb Seefeldt, Barbara
Office Manager
Office: Centennial Hall 365-Q
Phone: 320-308-2234
E-mail: bkseefeldt@stcloudstate.edu
 

Shaffer, Michael J.
Professor of Philosophy
Office: Centennial Hall 365-N
Phone: 320-308-6685 E-mail: mjshaffer@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Philosophy of Science, Logic, Epistemology

Kevin with Bruce

Sharpe, Kevin
Associate Professor of Philosophy, Chairperson
On Sabbatical, 2014-2015

Office:  Centennial Hall 365-O
Phone:  320-308-5316
Email:  kwsharpe@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests:  Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophical Theology

casey

Swank, Casey
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Office: Centennial Hall 365-K
Phone: 320-308-3848
E-mail: cswank@stcloudstate.edu

Research interest: Epistemology

yiwei

Zheng, Yiwei
Professor of Philosophy
Office: Centennial Hall 365-B
Phone: 320-308-2235
E-mail: yzheng@stcloudstate.edu

Research interests: Existentialism, Metaphysics, Chinese Art and Religion

 

Emeriti

Anderson, Myron
Address: 1016 9th Ave. S., St. Cloud, MN 56301
Phone: 320-251-4829
E-mail: mganderson@stcloudstate.edu
Years at SCSU: 36
Research interests: History of Modern Philosophy, Marxism, Existentialism, American Philosophy, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Law and Punishment

Bahde, John
Address: Box 5222, Frisco, CO 80443
Phone: 970-668-0979
Internet address: jbahde@stcloudstate.edu
Years at SCSU: 35

Research interests: Metaphysics, Ethics, Philosophy of Language

Boyer, David
Address: 529 9th Ave. S., St. Cloud, MN 56301
Phone: 320-260-7527
E-mail: dlboyer@stcloudstate.edu
Years at SCSU: about 30
Research interests: Logic, Hinduism, History of Women Philosophers

Corliss, Richard
Address: 1216 Riverside Dr. S.E., St. Cloud, MN 56304
Phone: 320-251-9457
E-mail: rcorliss@charter.net
Years at SCSU: 30
Research interests: Philosophy of Religion

Phillips, Alan M.
Address: 1013 8th Ave. S.E., St. Cloud, MN 56301-1601
Phone: 320-249-5076
E-mail: elanpih@aol.com
Years at SCSU: 30
Research interests: Plato, Greek Philosophy, Philosophy of Law and Punishment, Philosophical Anthropology, History of Philosophy, Political Philosophy

Phillips, John N. (Jack)
Address: Kenwood Isles #514, 1425 W. 28th St., Minneapolis, MN 55408
Phone: 612-872-6660
E-mail: jacph@aol.com
Years at SCSU: 20
Research interests: Ethics, Logic, Environmental Ethics, Environmental Studies.

White, James (deceased)
Years at SCSU: 36
Research interests: Ethics, Buddhism

Yoos, George
Address: 12129 24th St., Clear Lake, MN 55319
Phone: 320-743-3127
E-mail: gyoos@aol.com; geyoos@stcloudstate.edu.
Years at SCSU: 31
Research interests: Philosophy of Communication, Critical Thinking, Social and Political Philosophy.

 

Untitled Document