News & Events

Congratulations to the 2015 Essay Contest and Scholarship Award Winners!

Annual Essay Competition

First Place: Kjell Fostervold, "Personhood Essentialism"

Second Place: Patrick Mefford, "Against William Lycan's Metaphilosophy"

Information about past winners of the essay contest can be found our Essay Contest Winners page.

2015 Scholarships Recipients

The J.E. White Philosophy Scholarship was awarded to Benjamin Bourgoin.

The Women in Philosophy Scholarships were awarded to Alex Marrone-Karpen and Meghan Johnson.

Information about past scholarship recipients can be found on our Scholarship Recipients page.


Newly Renamed Scholarship

The Philosophy Department is very pleased to announce a renaming of our Endowed Scholarship in honor of James E. White.

Emeritus philosophy professors Alan Philips and Myron Anderson have decided to memorialize their respect and affection for Jim, who passed away last July, by establishing the James E. White Memorial Endowed Philosophy Scholarship.

The scholarship won't be fully endowed until we reach the $25,000.00 mark. Please contribute, if you can! Contributions should be sent to the SCSU Foundation, which is housed in the office of University Advancement: 320-308-5370.

See our Scholarships page for more information on this and other scholarships.



SCSU Emeritus philosopher James E. White passed away on July 9, 2011. After receiving his PhD in 1968 from the University of Colorado, Jim taught at St. Cloud State University for thirty-six years. He retired in 2004, but continued to be a lively presence in the department. We will miss him, and offer our condolences to his wife, Elena, and sons Michael and Leif. An obituary and Guest Book are archived online by the St. Cloud Times.

Untitled Document