Football team claims title

Friday, March 30, 2012

Head Coach Scott Underwood

Head Coach Scott Underwood

Head Coach Scott Underwood Matt Theis 

Husky football rolled in 2011, winning its first Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) title. For the second straight year and fourth time in school history the squad advanced to the NCAA Division II Football Playoffs. Head Coach Scott Underwood was voted the NSIC Coach of the Year and was a semifinalist for the national Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year honor. St. Cloud State has posted four straight winning seasons with Underwood at the helm. The Huskies landed 22 players on the All-NSIC team including eight first team selections. Two players, seniors Matt Theis, Eden Valley, and Tony Kubes, New Prague, were named to the All-Conference team for the third time in their careers. Junior Marvin Matthews, Roseville, was named to the 2011 American Football Coaches Association Division II Coaches’ All-America Team. The Huskies excelled in the classroom as well. Theis and senior Matt Schwartz, Lino Lakes, were named to the 2011 Capital One Academic All-America® Football Team, the highest academic honor in Division II. These two student athletes led a group of 14 players named to the Academic All-NSIC team. The Huskies’ regular season home win streak has reached 14 games. A highlight of the Husky season was a 35-7 win over defending national and conference champion Minnesota Duluth on Oct. 29 at Husky Stadium. The 2011 season ended Nov. 19 in a 48-38 NCAA playoff first-round home loss to Wayne State University (Mich.). Half-time was extended to 50 minutes to remove the nearly six inches of snow that fell during the game.


<< Previous  |  Contents  |  Next >>