WCHA Honors and Awards

Friday, November 19, 2010

The St. Cloud State men’s and women’s hockey teams were well represented on the WCHA Scholar Athlete team as nine women, the most in school history, and six men were named to the prestigious academic team. The prestigious WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through Association member Faculty Representatives. To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency and have a grade-point average of at least 3.50.

Those athletes are sophomore guard Anna Donlan, Hillsboro, Wis.;  senior defender Jenaca Fredheim, Campbell River, British Columbia; senior forward Caitlin Hogan, Oakdale; junior forward Courtney Josefson, Bemidji; senior forward Katie Kemmerer, Anchorage, Alaska; junior defender Ashlan Lambert Eden Prairie; senior defender Kelly Meierhofer, Sauk Rapids; senior forward Holly Roberts, St. Cloud and sophomore forward Brittany Toor, Hartland, Mich.

The St. Cloud State men’s hockey team was represented by senior defender Jon Ammerman, Moorhead; sophomore forward Jordy Christian, Moorhead; junior defender Chris Hepp, Savage; sophomore forward Drew LeBlanc, Hermantown; sophomore forward Travis Novak, Alberta; and senior defender Garrett Raboin, Detroit Lakes.

Senior Caitlin Hogan also was named the WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year, becoming the first St. Cloud State female hockey player to be so honored. Three times during her career at St. Cloud State Hogan was named to the WCHA Scholar Athlete team and the conference All-Academic team. In 2009-10, she landed on the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District V Second Team. She is also the recipient of the 2009-10 WCHA Post-Graduate Scholarship. A marketing major, Hogan plans to pursue an MBA and one day work in sports marketing.

- Celest Stang

<< Previous  |  Contents  |  Next >>