Teachers par excellence

Friday, June 25, 2010


Minnesota Teacher of the Year semi-finalists included Richard Halterman ’79 ’81, Montevideo; Darcy Halverson ’97, Mora; and Marcia Nelson ’03, Champlin. Sponsored by Education Minnesota, a 70,000-member statewide educators union, the three were included in a group of 32 semi-finalists chosen from an initial field of 107 candidates. Candidates included pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers from public and private schools. Halterman teaches at Montevideo High School, Haleverson at Mora Elementary School and Nelson at Anoka-Hennepin.

Sue Bremer ’80, Minneapolis, is Teacher of the Year at Cannon Falls Elementary School where she has taught for 26 years. Lori Richards ’90, Cartersville, is Teacher of the Year for Cartersville Schools where she has taught for 20 years.

<< Previous  |  Contents  |  Next >>