Husky athletes excel in the classroom

Monday, January 25, 2010

Rachel Haines


More than 80 Husky student-athletes earned academic honors during 2008-09. The Western Collegiate Hockey Association recognized three players each from the men’s and women’s teams as elite Scholar-Athletes. Maintaining at least a 3.50 grade point average during their time at St. Cloud State were Caitlin Hogan, Oakdale; Kelly Meierhofer, Sauk Rapids; Brita Schroeder ’09, Monticello; Jon Ammerman, Moorhead; Brent Borgen ’09, Mahtomedi; and Garret Raboin, Detroit Lakes.

ESPN the Magazine named senior softball player Rachel Haines ’09, Pepin, Wis., a First Team Academic All-American. A biomedical science major with a 4.0 grade point average, Haines was accepted into the genetics-counseling program at the University of Minnesota. The bi-weekly magazine, which has a circulation of more than two million, also named senior women’s diver Kelsey Berkeland ’09 to its First Team Academic All-America At-Large squad. 

Berkeland, who hails from Coon Rapids, was also one of seven women recognized by the Collegiate Swim Coaches of America Association (CSCAA) with Scholar All-America honors. Also named were Kathryn Brueggeman, Grafton, Wis.; Allison Tracy, Minot, N.D.; Elizabeth Lopez ’09, Allen, Texas; Kirsten Koetter, Melrose; and Alisha Blaydes, Elk River. CSCAA honored four men: Mitch Dickison ’09, Faribault; Ross Eiden ’09, Rosemount; Anthony Buhr, Minneapolis; and Kyle Cordry, Las Cruces, N.M.

The National Wrestling Coaches Association honored six wrestlers for academic excellence:   Matt Jackson, Oakdale; Adam Helgeson, Sauk Centre; Adam Hill, Sauk Rapids; Jacob Horn, Ephrata, Wash.; Erik Rogness, Buffalo; and John Sundgren, Blaine. Sundgren notched a 32-7 record also earning him NCAA Division II All-American honors.

NCAA Division II Academic All-Region winners were Berkeland, Haines, junior tennis player Kelly Freese, St. Cloud; and football player Ryan Kees ’09, Eagan. Kees, who signed as a free agent with the Detroit Lions was also a finalist for the 2008 Draddy Trophy, a top academic-athletic honor presented annually by the National Football Foundation.

For the full listing of academic honors for student athletes, visit stcloudstate.edu/news/outlook.

<< Previous  |  Contents  |  Next >>