Student media rank high

Saturday, June 27, 2009

Clip from

Clip from "The Run"

Student-run media outlets at St. Cloud State – UTVS-TV, KVSC 88.1FM and the University Chronicle – collected honors this spring in national, regional and state competitions.

Broadcast Educators Association Awards

UTVS and its Husky Mag and Husky Productions entries received three of only 17 top Broadcast Educators Association awards at this year’s Festival of Media Arts in Las Vegas.

Junior Joel Larsen of Morris and sophomore Jordan Austin of Apple Valley won first place in the studio competition for their work with Husky Mag, a weekly show on University and high school sports. Seniors Kristina Perreault of Hugo and Scott Wittrock of Waseca received first place for their music video, “The Run,” viewable at vimeo.com/wittrock. Junior Justin Maas of New Hope and senior Gwen Siewert of Lake City placed second, along with the entire crew, for studio production.

Clip from

Clip from "The Run"

Mark of Excellence Awards

The Region 6 Society of Professional Journalists, which includes chapters in Minnesota, Wisconsin and North and South Dakota, conferred six Mark of Excellence Awards on St. Cloud State media and students.

  • The entire University Chronicle staff was recognized when the paper took the Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper title. Senior Andrew Downs of Alexandria also took a first place in editorial cartooning.
  • UTVS-TV took first place in the television newscast competition, an honor that went to the station’s entire staff. Students recognized for sports reporting were junior Chelsie Allen of Hayfield, “History of Husky Hockey,” first place; sophomore Jordan Weinand of Farmington, “Equipment Management,” second place; and the team of Allen, junior Joel Larsen of Morris and sophomore Jordan Austin of Apple Valley for “Husky Mag,” third place.
Jordan Austin

Jordan Austin, filming for UTVS’s "Husky Mag".

Minnesota Associated Press Broadcasters Awards

KVSC 88.1FM garnered four of the 2008 Associated Press awards handed out in March. Honorees were senior Aaron Bjorkstrand of Burnsville, “Rage Against Abuse,” best in show; senior Jenna Wundrow of Jim Falls, Wis., “SCSU Recycling Program: ‘Green or Guilty?’,” first in documentary/investigative competition; Bjorkstrand, “Husky Hockey Review,” first in sports reporting; and juniors Peter Tomala of Columbia Heights and Patrick Sullivan of Kasson, “Husky Sports Friday,” honorable mention in sports reporting.

<< Previous  |  Contents  |  Next >>