Student TV staff recognized nationally

Saturday, September 27, 2008

UTVS Student Staff

Accepting the award, from left: senior Cameron Bauhs, Chaska, junior Emily Deem, St. Cloud, and senior Tyler Bieber, Plymouth.

UTVS, the University’s student-run television station, has received a National 2007 Mark of Excellence Award from the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ). The station’s staff took the honor for “UTVS News” in the television newscast category. Finalists in the same category were the Cronkite NewsWatch staff at Arizona State University and the nightly news staff at Troy (Ala.) University.

Key news staff for the entry were sophomore Justin Maas, New Hope; junior Gwen Siewert, Zumbro Falls; and seniors Angela Douglas, Plymouth, Jody Norstedt, Montevideo, Stephanie Andersen, Neenah, Wis., and Cameron Bauhs, Chaska. The staff was led by senior Tyler Bieber, Plymouth, general manager.

The Mark of Excellence is the station’s first national SPJ first-place title since 2004, when the “Husky Mag” show took a first in television sports reporting. The station, which cablecasts local news and other programming 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, will be recognized in September during the 2008 SPJ Convention and National Journalism Conference in Atlanta, Ga.

<< Previous  |  Contents  |  Next >>