Atwood referendum fails

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Photo of students voting in Student Government elections

Students have defeated a proposed $15 million renovation of their Atwood Memorial Center student union, according to Student Government officials who supervised the Nov. 14-16 referendum.

An additional $4.20 a credit, up to 12 credits, for as long as 20 years, was denied by a vote of 943-729.

The fee increase would have funded upgrades such as a large, glass-enclosed gathering space, 300-seat multi-use theater, multi-use space on the main floor and a reception area south of the Ballroom.

Read a news story about the proposed renovations

In 2010, students defeated a $45 million Atwood renovation proposal 1,088 votes to 623.

Here's how other measures on the Student Government fall ballot fared:

  • Four constitutional amendments passed
  • Veterans Resource Center can now compete for student activity fee money 
  • Eight senators were elected

Earning seats in the Student Government Senate were Tiffanie Walentiny (Sauk Rapids), Andrew Beckmann (Waseca), Sarah Miles (Richfield), Abdoul Ouedraogo (Burkina Faso), Kyle Warner (Onalaska, Wisc.), Randall Olson (Coon Rapids), Ashli Gerdes (St. Cloud) and Tyla Hughes (Monticello).

Officials said 1,723 votes were cast. Fall enrollment is 17,231.

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University