Festival Orchestra 2011

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Lansun Zhong, senior piano performance major from China

Lansun Zhong, senior piano performance major from China, at the keyboard.

Symphony Orchestra members with Danial O'Bryant, director Lansun Zhong, senior piano performance major from China 

The university’s Symphony Orchestra will perform classical masterworks during its first concert of the season 7:30 p.m. Nov. 19 in Ritsche Auditorium.

Festival Orchestra 2011 will include Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Coriolanus Overture,” selections from Aaron Copland’s “Rodeo” and the fourth movement, “Adagietto,” from Gustav Mahler's "Symphony No. 5."

Lansun Zhong will solo during Sergei Prokofiev’s “Piano Concert No. 3,” first movement. He is a senior piano performance major from Guangxi province in China. 

The concert will conclude with the final movements of Anton Dvorak's “Symphony No. 9,” also known as “From the New World.”

View the concert poster (PDF).

Festival Orchestra 2011 is directed by Daniel O’Bryant, director of orchestras and low strings.

A five-year veteran of the Department of Music, O’Bryant holds a doctorate in orchestral and opera conducting from Arizona State University (ASU), Tempe.

He has also conducted the Bakersfield Symphony, Conductors Institute of South Carolina Orchestra, Aspen Music Festival’s American Academy of Conductors Orchestra, ASU Lyric Opera Theatre Orchestra and Brigham Young University Musical Theatre Orchestra.

Admission is $5. Students and children are $3. Admission is free with an SCSU ID.

Parking is free on streets adjacent to campus and a dollar per hour in the 4th Avenue Parking Ramp.

The Music Department each year awards more than $50,000 in music scholarships to music majors and non-majors.

For more information, contact Daniel O'Bryant at 320-308-2280 or email


<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University