Men's hockey situation

Friday, July 15, 2011

Photo of Drew LeBlanc, senior forward from Hermantown, being interviewed by KCML Lite 99.9 broadcaster and former Husky All-American Dave Reichel '79

Drew LeBlanc, senior forward from Hermantown, is interviewed by KCML Lite 99.9 broadcaster and former Husky All-American Dave Reichel '79.

St. Cloud State officials are involved in conversations about the state of men's college hockey.

"We know that there are numerous rumors circulating about St. Cloud State’s hockey program, most of which are false. St. Cloud State is engaged in sensitive conversations about the future of college hockey and we are unable to engage in public conversations," said President Earl H. Potter III.

"The one rumor that we can clarify is that St. Cloud State was never invited to join the new conference and thus we did not turn down an invitation," Potter said.

"Also know that we are working diligently to assure that Husky Hockey remains a leader on the national level – a position we have maintained since the outset more than two decades ago," Potter said.

2011-12 men's hockey

Captains Drew LeBlanc (Hermantown), Mike Lee (Roseau) and Ben Hanowski (Little Falls) lead the men's hockey team into home action with an Oct. 21-22 series against the University of New Hampshire.

View the 2011-12 schedule

Purchase season tickets

"We anticipate significant changes in college hockey across the country including in the WCHA, the new NCHC and the CCHA in the coming months. In the meantime, the WCHA is in place for the next two years in its 12-team format. Just as soon as we are able to go public with information, we will communicate with you and all of our Husky Hockey fans," he said.

"We appreciate your loyalty to Husky Hockey and to St. Cloud State University," said Potter.

The NCHC -- National Collegiate Hockey Conference -- will begin play in 2013-14 with founding members University of Minnesota-Duluth, University of Denver, Colorado College, University of Nebraska-Omaha, Miami University and University of North Dakota. The NCHC, announced July 13 in Colorado Springs, Colo., is expected to consider additional members.

Officials at the University of Minnesota and University of Wisconsin announced in March their teams would leave the WCHA -- Western Collegiate Hockey Association -- to join a new Big Ten Hockey Conference in 2013-14. For now, the WCHA is left with five members: St. Cloud State University, Bemidji State University, Michigan Tech University, University of Alaska- Anchorage and Minnesota State University, Mankato.

The CCHA -- Central Collegiate Hockey Association -- is losing four teams to new conferences. Two more teams may leave. Press reports suggest Notre Dame has been courted by the NCHC and Hockey East. Northern Michigan University announced July 14 it will pursue membership in the WCHA.


<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University