Symphony 2010

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Symphony Orchestra members, circa 2008

The Symphony Orchestra will perform works by Gustav Holst, Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky, George Frideric Handel and Ludwig van Beethoven 7:30 p.m. Nov. 13 in Ritsche Auditorium.

"Symphony 2010" will be conducted by Daniel O'Bryant, associate professor of music, and Armando Saldarini, graduate student. View the event poster (PDF).

Beethoven's "Symphony No. 6," also known as "The Pastoral," will be accompanied by a slide show of Minnesota nature photos. The symphony is one of the Romantic movement's best known efforts to document nature symphonically.

Jaclyn Potvin, a senior student from Champlin, will solo on an aria from "Julius Caesar," an Italian opera written by Handel and Nicola Francesco Haym.

The Symphony Orchestra will also host an all-day festival during the day. Minnesota high school students, nominated by their teachers, will participate in master-classes, rehearsals and performances with music faculty and students.

The high school students will perform with the Symphony Orchestra on the ninth and 10th movements of Mussorgsky's "Pictures at an Exhibition." The movements are sometimes called, respectively, "Baba-Yaga" and "The Great Gates of Kiev."

Tickets are $5 for adults, $3 students and seniors, and free with a St. Cloud State ID. Tickets are available at the door.

A portion of the ticket proceeds will fund scholarships for music students.

For more information, contact the Music Department at 320-308-3223 or email Daniel O'Bryant.

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University