Students earn nat'l media awards

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Leah Carr, UTVS news director

Leah Carr, UTVS news director.

Leah Carr, UTVS news director Josh Nguyen, left, UTVS news director from St. Paul Alex Clysdale, Husky Productions producer Mitch McDermott, UTVS station manager and Husky Productions director Nicki Cunningham, Husky Productions associate producer From left are 2013 BEA award winners Alyssa Tryggeseth, Emilio Ramos De Jesus and Emily Haeg Natalie Davis '13, UTVS news anchor Nick Minock, Cloquet Vicki Ikeogu, UTVS reporter and University Chronicle news editor Meghan Reistad, UTVS reporter, anchor and producer 

A dozen St. Cloud State television students have earned international media arts awards and will be honored at an April ceremony in Las Vegas.

Honored are Leah Carr (New Prague), Josh Nguyen (St. Paul), Emilio Ramos De Jesus (Princeton), Alex Clysdale (Eagan), Nicki Cunningham (Shakopee), Mitch McDermott (Minneapolis), Nick Minock (Cloquet), Vicki Ikeogu (Cold Spring), Natalie Davis (Topeka, Kan.), Emily Haeg (Andover), Alyssa Tryggeseth (Big Lake) and Meghan Reistad (Elk River). 

The Broadcast Education Association (BEA) Festival of Media Arts is an annual media-arts competition for faculty and students.

UTVS Television, St. Cloud State's student-run station, broadcasts on Charter Cable channel 21. Facilities include two production studios, three sports venues, two production control rooms, a central equipment room, media room, master control center and twelve editing suites. UTVS produces a dozen regular programs. Meet the management team.

The station's Husky Productions (HP) division manages 1080i high-definition (HD) broadcasts of men's and women's Husky Hockey games on Charter channels 823 (HD) and 426 (analog). Meet the HP production crew and talent.

Derrick Silvestri '06 is the UTVS advisor and studio manager. Brian Stanley '93 is executive producer of Husky Productions.

The award details:

Television Feature Reporting

  • First Place: Reistad and Ramos De Jesus, Giving By the Gallon
  • Honorable Mention: Minock and Ikeogu, Rocori High School

Television News Anchor

  • Third Place: Davis

Television Newscast (airing three days per week or less)

  • First Place: Ramos De Jesus, Haeg and Tryggeseth, UTVS News en Espanol

Television Newscast (airing 4-5 days per week)

  • First Place: Carr and Nguyen, UTVS News

TV Sports Event Production

  • First Place (tie): Clysdale, Cunningham and McDermott, Husky Productions, SCSU vs UC 

BEA's 59th Convention and 12th Festival of Media Arts is April 6-9 at the Las Vegas Hotel & Casino. It runs in conjunction with the April 5-10 NABShow, the annual convention of the National Association of Broadcasters.

The Festival of Media Arts is sponsored by BEA and the Charles & Lucille King Family Foundation. In 2012, the festival involved more than 1,500 students from 275 universities. More than $28,000 in prizes were awarded.

Learn more about Mass Communications and St. Cloud State student media

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University