2012-13 Alumni Awards

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Alex L. Ames

Alex L. Ames

Alex L. Ames Grant Nelson Ron Seibring 

St. Cloud State University Alumni Association will recognize three outstanding alums and one leading employee during the 2012-13 Alumni Association Awards at 3 p.m. April 18 in the university’s Atwood Memorial Center Theatre.

This year’s recipients are:

Graduate of the Last Decade Award: Robert Animikii Horton, a 2006 graduate who went on to get his master’s in sociology from Lakehead University in Thunder Bay, Ontario, as well as a bachelor’s in education. He is currently pursuing his master’s in education and said that his time at St. Cloud State “provided the missing keynote on the path to success.”

University Leadership Award: Ron Seibring, director of Sports Facilities and Campus Recreation. With more than 20 years of service at the university and Central Minnesota, Seibring has mentored and empowered hundreds of students and employees to succeed and build skills for success in their careers.

Alumni Service Award: Alexander L. Ames, a 2007 and 2012 graduate who is a Lois F. McNeil Fellow in the Winterthur Program in American Material Culture at the University of Delaware and at the Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library.

Distinguished Alumni Award: Grant E. Nelson, a 1963 graduate and two-time inductee into the St. Cloud State University Athletic Hall of Fame for his wrestling accomplishments. Nelson is active throughout the community and is president of the Nelson Family Foundation, the SCSU Wrestling Takedown Club and is on the SCSU President’s Athletics Advisory Board.

The Alumni Association Awards spotlight alumni, friends and employees of the university who demonstrate the highest standards of integrity and character, and individuals whose careers and life accomplishments reflect positively on the university community.

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University