SG election results

Friday, November 30, 2012

Senator-elect Mohamed Soumah, a graduate student from Guinea, was among the top vote-getters

Senator-elect Mohamed Soumah, a graduate student from Guinea, was among the top vote-getters.

Eleven senators take seats in Student Government in January following elections this week.

Elected senators were:

Ben Pauley, Matthew O'Neil

College of Liberal Arts

Oliver Tempel, Lucas Golliet

Herberger School of Business

Stephanie Crandall, Adam Booth

School of Public Affairs

InYoung Choi, Devon Bowker

College of Science and Engineering

Mohamed Soumah, Grant Brakob

School of Education

Emmanuel Oppong

School of Health and Human Services

Turnout for the Nov. 26-28 election was light. Of the 16,457 students enrolled fall semester, just 689 cast ballots. Some senators-elect received just three votes. View the results (PDF).

The non-binding referendum requesting the return of Homecoming earned 521 yes votes. Fifty-eight voted no. The remainder abstained. View the Homecoming bill (PDF), adopted Nov. 8 by Student Government.

St. Cloud State revamped its engagement event in 2011, dropping a single Homecoming weekend in favor of four family friendly Celebrate! St. Cloud State weekends.

Election results were canvassed during a late afternoon Nov. 29 Student Government meeting. At that meeting, Jarrod Wiggins, graduate student from New Ulm, announced his resignation as Student Government president, effective Dec. 13.

Vice President Hannah Muerhoff, Kenosha, Wis., will serve as president spring semester.

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University