Tekne finalist

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Science Express is the driving force behind St. Cloud State's Mobile Lab Program.


The Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA) has announced St. Cloud State University as a finalists for the 13th annual Tekne Awards to be awarded Nov. 1 at the Minneapolis Convention Center. St. Cloud State is among three contenders for the EdTech Award, which recognizes the development of innovative technologies that enhance teaching and learning both in and out of the classroom.

The Tekne Awards program reinforces Minnesota’s place in the ecosphere of innovation. Other finalists for the EdTech Award are eLumen Collaborative of Minneapolis, and the University of Minnesota Rochester. This is the first time St. Cloud State has been a finalist for a Tekne Award.

Contending for honors is St. Cloud State’s Mobile Lab Program, which includes the Science Express. In 2007, administrative and academic leaders began developing ideas to support pre-college engagement in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). Early Introduction of students to STEM disciplines is an essential component of regional economic development. The Science Express was launched in the fall of 2009 to bring high-tech, hands-on STEM experiences to central Minnesota schools.

The Science Express has been operating for 3 years and has served more than 45,000 students. The effort is expanding to include a Technology & Engineering Express, an equipment-lending program and professional development for teachers.

“MHTA is honored to showcase some of the most innovative and competitive technology-based companies in the world at the Tekne Awards,” said Margaret Anderson Kelliher, president of MHTA. “Thanks to this year’s finalists, Minnesota remains at the forefront of cutting-edge technological growth.”

The Minnesota High Tech Association is a membership organization representing the state’s technology-based economy. MHTA members are involved in technology creation, production, application and education in Minnesota. This year, 44 finalists in 15 award categories were chosen by independent judging panels.

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University