Tour de Europa

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Student musicians in the St. Cloud State University Orchestra

An unorthodox performance of Paganini’s "Variations for One String" will highlight the Tour de Europa concert featuring the St. Cloud State University Orchestra. 

The concert is 7:30 p.m. Feb. 18 in Stewart Hall's Ritsche Auditorium.

The concert program includes works by six European composers: Felix Mendelssohn, Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Edvard Grieg and Camille Saint-Saens.

View the concert poster (PDF) for program details.

Daniel O’Bryant, orchestra director, will appear as a string bass soloist, performing "Variations on One String on a Theme from 'Moses' by Rossini." This virtuosic piece was scored for violin by Niccolò Paganini.

O'Bryant, an assistant professor orchestra and low strings, holds a doctorate in orchestral and opera conducting from Arizona State University.

Tickets are $5 for adults, $3 for seniors and non-St. Cloud State students, and free to students with a St. Cloud State student ID. Tickets are available at the door. For more information, call 320-308-3223.

The St. Cloud State University Orchestra is open to students who play orchestral instruments. Its repertoire ranges from baroque to contemporary, from concert standards to world premieres.

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University