Students win President�s Volunteer Service Awards

Wednesday, December 10, 2008


ST. CLOUD, Minn. – Several St. Cloud State University students have been honored with President’s Volunteer Service Awards (PVSA) for community service hours donated through the University Program Board (UPB).

Beneficiaries include junior Zach Holker of St. Paul, Minn.; junior Bretta Edwards of New Ulm, Minn.; senior Jen Hernandez of Maple Grove, Minn.; junior Nick Clasemann of Dassel-Cokato, Minn.; junior Anna Swenson of St. Cloud, Minn.; senior Kayla Locnikar of Circle Pines, Minn., and junior Brandon Hernandez of Maple Grove, Minn.  Each student will be recognized with a gold lapel pin and personalized certificate of achievement signed by President Bush.

As an organization, a PVSA also went to UPB, which earned gold status for its combined completion of more than 2,000 volunteer service hours during the past 12 months.

The PVSA was created under the administration of President Bush in 2002 to honor committed Americans who inspire others through service.  400,000 awards have been presented to date.

By engaging students as leaders and volunteers, UPB plans activities which enhance learning and personal development.  Hosting nearly 200 campus events last year, including the Mississippi Music Fest and Atwood After Dark, UPB designs activities to educate and entertain while serving the campus community.

For more information about UPB events, visit

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

University Communications
St. Cloud State University