Annual Scholarship Banquet

The Department of Mass Communications' Annual Scholarship Banquet is held in St. Cloud honoring students being awarded scholarships. Last year's theme, "A New Era of Responsibility," echoed President Obama's sentiment of inspiring and challenging open-minded citizens with powerful images of old and new.

"Communications mentors strive to instill time-honored values and proven techniques in future journalists and media strategists; old and new," said Professor Mike Vadnie, Scholarship Chairman. "Long-time audience habits and traditional media are undergoing a transformation as dramatic as a cocoon to a butterfly. Tonight we celebrate the confidence in this time of transition and promise."

16 Scholarships are awarded to various students for academic accomplishments, leadership and media skills. Student organizations - Advertising Federation, KVSC, PRSSA, SPJ, University Chronicle and UTVS - are well represented and are also recognized for their work and accomplishments over the academic year.

Visit our Scholarships webpage

Mass Communications Scholarships

  • Fran and Mil Voekler Endowed Mass Comm Scholarship
  • Jodi Huisentruit Endowed Scholarship
  • Granite Broadcasting Corp. & KBJR-TV Diversity Scholarship
  • Gannett Foundation-Times Media Don "Chief" Casey Scholarship
  • ECM Publishers Scholarships
  • Arch & Amy Pease Mass Communication Scholarships
  • Carol Loberg 4th Calvary Endowed Scholarships
  • Robert D. Fuller Mass Communications Flexible Endowed Scholarship
  • Sheila Wilken Kerber & Christine Vick Memorial Faculty Recognition Scholarship
  • Marge Herda Memorial Scholarship
  • Rick L. Groff Memorial Scholarship
  • Mass Communications Faculty Recognition Diversity Scholarship
  • Vadnelly Journalism Scholarship
  • E. Scott Bryce Mass Communications Endowed Scholarship
  • Voice of St. Cloud KVSC Endowed Scholarship
  • DUFES Endowed Scholarship

2009 Annual Scholarship Banquet

Above (l to r) Sharon Rohling, Mil Voelker and MJ Kilkelly

Above (l to r) Mr. & Mrs. Robert Fuller

Above (l to r) Roger Rudolph and Pam Roth

Above (l to r) Gretchen Tiberghien, Pat Motherway and Jane Eckhoff

Return to the News and Events page.

Untitled Document