

INFORMATION SERVICES

ST. CLOUD STATE COLLEGE ST. CLOUD, MINNESOTA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ST. CLOUD, Minn., Oct. -- Two students, three former faculty members and four alumni will be honored during Homecoming Saturday (Oct. 12) at St. Cloud State College.

The students — Aquatennial queen Mary Margaret Schultz and the 1963 Homecoming queen, to be named Thursday — will be attractions in a 9:30 a.m. parade through downtown St. Cloud. (The 60-unit procession will travel north on Ninth Avenue South from Seventh Street to St. Germain Street, then east on St. Germain to the Mississippi River bridge. Homecoming queens for Tech, Cathedral and Sauk Rapids high schools will be included in the parade. Honorary parade marshals will be Miss Florence Hayden, 50th anniversary class, and Frank Rukavina, 25th anniversary class.)

Three new buildings named for former faculty members will be dedicated at an ll a.m. ceremony in Stewart Hall Auditorium. Headley Hall, industry and art building, bears the name of a former president, Dr. John W. Headley, who died in 1957. A native of South Dakota, Dr. Headley was president from 1947 to 1952, when he resigned to become president of South Dakota State College. His widow, Leona, will attend.

Garvey Commons, food service building, is named for Mrs. Beth Porter Garvey, who was the college's first dean of women. A native of Le Roy, Minn., she attended Carleton College and the University of Minnesota. She served in administrative positions at Le Roy, Ortonville and Albert Lea high schools before joining the St. Cloud faculty in 1925. Retired since 1953, Mrs. Garvey lives in Redlands, Calif.

Hill Hall, women's residence, honors Miss Helen Hill, who retired in 1952 after serving on the faculty for 37 years. She founded the student newspaper and was

Homecoming - 2

adviser to Minerva society. After retirement, she served as Alumni Association secretary and newsletter editor. Miss Hill lives in St. Cloud.

Also to be dedicated are the Hayden and Joyner dining rooms in Garvey Commons, named for four Hayden sisters who attended the college between 1904 and 1922 and three Joyner brothers, who were graduated between 1914 and 1922. The sisters are Mrs. Maude Carr, deceased, and Miss Carrie Hayden, Mrs. Ruth Grierson and Miss Florence Hayden, all from the Los Angeles area. The brothers are Taylor, Thomas and Schuyler Joyner, who have been educators in the Los Angeles area.

State Representative Robert Mahowald, St. Cloud, will be the speaker. Also on the program are President George F. Budd and Mrs. Elinor Detra, St. Cloud, president of the Alumni Association.

St. Cloud's Huskies will clash with Winona's Warriors in a 2 p.m. Northern Intercollegiate Conference football game at Selke Field. Special halftime entertainment is planned.

President Budd will present distinguished alumni awards at a 6:30 p.m. banquet at the Germain Hotel. Recipients will be Miss Florence Hayden (1913), Dr. Roma Gans (1916), L. Harold Anderson (1917) and Dr. M. Jay Rlaha (1925).

Now retired in Pasadena, Calif., Miss Hayden taught school 12 years in Minneseta and 28 years in Los Angeles. Dr. Gans is professor emerita of education at Columbia University Teachers College, where she received a Ph.D. in 1940. She retired in 1959.

Anderson is vice president and assistant general manager of Pacific Gas and Electric Company in San Francisco. He has been president of the California Rail-road Commission and recently served as chairman of Stanford University's \$75 million fund raising campaign. Dr. Blaha recently retired as administrative assistant to the Los Angeles County superintendent of schools. A native of Wadena, Minn., he holds a Ph.D. degree from the University of Washington. His home is in Azusa, Calif. (830 S. Azusa Ave.).

A Homecoming dance is scheduled for 9 p.m. at the St. Cloud Coliseum.

Homecoming activities will begin with the queen coronation and a concert by the Highwaymen at 8 p.m. Thursday and a variety show at 8 p.m. Friday, both in Stewart Hall Auditorium. Queen candidates are Vicky Anderson, Minneapolis; Linda Vandell, St. Cloud; Becky Planer, Annandale; Sharon Sandstrom, Robbinsdale; Jane Harrison, Osakis; Judy Ann Larson, Grove City; Ann Bergstrom, Minneapolis, and Kathleen Murphy, Foley.