Find us on Facebook!


Graduate Faculty and Student Awards, Publications, Presentations
and Other Good Work

Check out These Quick Facts (pdf) about Graduate STudents at SCSU


Thesis Award Winner

SCSU Distinguished Thesis Award Winner 2013: Diana Barg, Cultural Resources Management, College of Liberal Arts for her thesis titled: Rethinking Hudson-Meng: A Taphonomic Analysis of the Faunal Assemblage from 25SX115, Sioux County, Nebraska


Guentzel, M. & Cramer, N. (2014, March). Partnering to Reinvent Graduate Student Orientation.. Program presented at the annual meeting of the American College Personnel Association, Indianapolis, Indiana.

McCullar, S. L., & Hammond, K. J. (2014, March). Crisis management on the Front Line: What new professionals need to know. Presentation at the NASPA annual meeting, Baltimore, Maryland.

McCullar, S. L., & Hammond, K. J. (2014, April). Crisis management on the Front Line: What new professionals need to know. Presentation at the annual meeting of the American College Personnel Association, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Pam Newbaurer, Sarah Dutcher, Joanne Larson (2014. Presentation at the United Kingdom Literacy Association, Mogadishu to Lake Wobegon: Stories of US Immigrants Journeys in Minnesota.

Peterson, E. & Karasik, R.J. (2013). Mentoring Service-Learners in Dementia Care. Poster: 66th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Gerontological Society of America, New Orleans.






GRANTS and Scholarships

Tiffany Scoles, Applied Clinical Research, Recipient of a North Hennepin Area Chamber of Commerce Continuing Education Scholarship Scholarship Recipient












Walid Issa.Walid Issa,
Applied Economics, Recipient of the Welter World Citizen Award for demonstrating strong civic responsibility by co-founding Shades. Recipient of the 2014 Minnesota Campus Compact President's Student Leadership Award for deep commitment to civic responsibility and leadership, evidence by initiative, innovative and collaborative approaches to addressing public issues.





Jason ThamJason Tham, Mass Communication and English, Honorable Mention, SCSU Research Colloquium for paper titled, Communicating with College Students about University Events: Exploring Preferred Social Media Channel and Message Lead.






2014 Excellence in Leadership Award Winners

  • Kelly Haws, Educational Leadership and Administration, School of Education
    Carissa Johnson, Higher Education Administration, School of Education
    Daniel McClure, Public Safety Executive Leadership, School of Public Affairs
    Jared Sandler, Teaching English as a Second Language, College of Liberal Arts
    JasonTham, Mass Communication and English, College of Liberal Arts

2014 Graduate Student Achievement Awards

Adory Beutel, The department of Special Education recognizes her dedication to helping students grow and develop as educators. Along with her dedication to teaching students her own school work has brought an array of theoretical and professional experiences into practice. Her willingness to complete tasks (with a smile), work ethic, and teaching skills merit an award for academic achievement..

Sara Brodeur, The Community Counseling Program recognizes her exemplary work in writing her thesis "The Impact of a Time-Tailored Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Program on Graduate Student Perceived Stress, Mindfulness and Preventing Coping Resources”. In addition, the Community Counseling Program also recognizes her work as a graduate assistant and her participation as a co-presenter at the ASGW National Conference.

Amida Kariburyo, The Social Responsibility Program recognizes her responsible, dependable and forthright actions in her academic endeavors. The passion she has shown in researching issues pertaining to the challenges women face in Africa as well as her volunteer activities on campus has been an invaluable contribution to the institution as a whole.

Maham Khan, The Engineering Management Program recognizes her excellent academic and extra-curricular activities. Maham's volunteer work has greatly benefited the program and St. Cloud State University. Aside from her outstanding academic achievement her commitment to helping the other members of her program has led her to stand out in the Engineering Management Program.

Emmalyne Peterson, The Gerontology Program recognizes the leadership she has demonstrated through all that she has participated in. Organizing the campaign to inform the community on signs of elder abuse not only showed her commitment to higher education but it provided a great service to the community. Her passion and drive has also inspired students to participate as well.

Daniel Rearick, The Biological Sciences Department recognizes him based upon his innovative thesis project. The quality of his thesis shows his dedication to higher education and a commitment to extraordinary work. Daniel will be pursuing his doctorate at Trent University and we congratulate him on his dissertation grant.

Perian Stavrum, The Information Assurance Program recognizes her hard work and the leadership she demonstrated on the study abroad program in Australia. Not only did she provide grest support for the undergraduate students on the trip but her efforts allowed the students to secure internships at Wolters Kluwer. The faculty has seen all that she is capable of and knows that she will be successful in her future endeavors.

Elizabeth Steinmetz, The History Department recognizes her exceptional academic achievement in obtaining at 4.0 G.P.A. and her outstanding volunteer work in the community. The dedication to studies while working as a Social Studies teacher reveals that she is a stellar student, accomplished teacher, solid researcher, and a galvanizing force for bringing the regions youth to explore history.

Megan Stroh, The Cultural Resources Management Archaeology Program recognizes her exemplary work as a highly motivated, intelligent, and organized graduate student with a strong work ethic. The work she put into her thesis demonstrates her extraordinary commitment to higher education. Along with her outstanding academic work the CRM Archaeology Program also honors her commitment to serving the community through volunteering with School District 742 and Isle Royale National Park.




Student Organization Leadership

Graduate students serve as president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, publicity chair, membership chair and as active members in a number of student organizations including:

Graduate Student Organization

Professional Association Memberships

  • ACCED-I -- Association of Collegiate Conference & Events Directors-Intl
  • ACPA – College Educators International
  • ACUI
  • NAPBIRT -- National Association of Professional Band Instrument Repair Technicians
  • MARRCH -- Minnesota Association of Resources for Recovery and Chemical Health
  • MSSA -- Minnesota Social Service Association
  • FBI Law Enforcement Executive Development Association
  • Wisconsin Association of Homicide Investigators
  • Wisconsin Association for Identification
  • International Association for Healthcare Safety & Security
  • International Association of Property & Evidence
  • NPPA -- National Press Photographers Association
  • Education Minnesota
  • NASPA -- Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education
  • MCPA – Minnesota College Personnel Association
  • Minnesota Academy of Science
  • NACA – National Association for Campus Activities
  • NASW -- National Association of Social Workers
  • National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians
  • Professional Ambulance Association of Wisconsin
  • The Acoustical Society of America
  • MinneTESOL
  • United States Chess Federation


Other Good Work



Accepted to Doctoral Programs


View Previous Years