Application forms and instructions are available on the counter as you walk into the English office (51B 126) the first week of March.

Eligibility for a Scholarship — General Requirements
  1. At least sophomore status (unless otherwise stated)
  2. Completion of ENGL 191 (or the equivalent) and the completion of at least one SCSU English course beyond the 100-level.
  3. A declared English major (completed English application on file in the English office)
  4. Minimum 3.3 GPA for English courses (unless otherwise stated)
English Department Scholarships

DR. JAMES B. ANDERSON SCHOLARSHIP was established in 2001 in honor of Dr. James B. Anderson, who has been a professor in the English Department since 1966. The fund was initiated by Dawn Krosnowski, who is a former student of Dr. Anderson. Recipients of this award must be a declared English major with a cumulative GPA of 3.5

BRADEN G. BOGUE SCHOLARSHIP FOR ENGLISH MAJORS was established in 2000 by the parents of Braden Bogue, who attended SCSU majoring in English with an emphasis on linguistics and minoring in music. Braden was in his senior year at SCSU when he died in an automobile accident. He received SCSU's Dennis Thayer Award and the Excellence in Leadership Award in April, 2000. Recipients of this award must be a junior or senior declared English major, demonstrate leadership ability, and have an overall GPA of 3.2 and a major GPA of 3.5.

LAWRENCE B. AND CLARA S. COARD MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP was established by Dr. Robert L. Coard in memory of his parents. Dr. Coard retired after 30 years as Professor of English at SCSU. This scholarship is available to declared English undergraduate and graduate majors. The criteria are academic excellence (upper 15% of class) and financial need. COMPLETE BOTH SIDES OF THE APPLICATION FORM.

ELIZABETH CULLY TEACHING ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE SCHOLARSHIP was established in 2002 in memory of Elizabeth "Beth" R. Cully who completed a Masters Degree in TESL at SCSU. This scholarship will be awarded to a full-time student in the TESL Masters Program who is in good academic standing and has special financial needs. COMPLETE BOTH SIDES OF THE APPLICATION FORM.

ENGLISH DEPARTMENT SCHOLARSHIP is awarded annually to undergraduate English majors (either BA or BS). Awards range from $200 to $500 each. The sole criterion is scholarship (academic excellence), as determined from a student's academic record and faculty recommendations.

ABIGAIL FALK CREATIVE WRITING PRIZE was established by Dr. Armand Falk in memory of his Aunt Abigail, a Minnesota poet. The Prize will be awarded to an English major with a Creative Writing Emphasis or a Creative Writing Minor and who has the greatest number of credits earned in creative writing and the highest overall GPA above 3.0.

DONNA GORRELL ENGLISH SCHOLARSHIP FOR CREATIVE NONFICTION WRITERS was established in May, 2004 by Dr. Gorrell's husband upon her retirement from the English Department. During her tenure on the English faculty, Dr. Gorrell served for six years as the department's Director of Composition and for seven years as the Director of English Graduate Studies. She continues to teach for the department on a part-time basis. This $500 scholarship will be awarded to a declared English major for the first time in fall 2006. Applicants must submit a CREATIVE NONFICTION ESSAY along with the scholarship application.

JAMES A. AND MURIEL GRUNERUD SCHOLARSHIP was established by Dr. James A. Grunerud, who served on the faculty of SCSU for 24 years. He and his wife, Muriel, established this scholarship in 1983 because of their commitment to education. This scholarship is awarded each year to one or two junior or senior English majors. The two criteria are academic excellence and financial need. The minimum award is $200. COMPLETE BOTH SIDES OF THE APPLICATION FORM.

JOHN MELTON SCHOLARSHIP IN LITERATURE was established by the four daughters of John Melton in memory of their father. Dr. Melton taught in the English department at SCSU from 1968 to 1986. Recipients must be upperclass BA English majors with a literature emphasis and must demonstrate scholastic achievement.

DREW ROSER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP, awarded for the first time in 1993, was established in memory of Drew Roser, a SCSU graduate with three majors: English, History and Philosophy. Applicants must be undergraduates with declared majors in two of the three departments (English, History or Philosophy) and have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher in either of the two applicable major fields. Applicants are required to write an essay of sufficient length in which they reveal their philosophy of life and how their chosen fields of major study relate to it. By this procedure, the applicant's personal attributes of integrity and respect for other individuals and the positive influence they have on the lives of others can be evaluated. DO NOT USE THE REGULAR APPLICATION FORM. Applications for this scholarship may be picked up in the English Office (Riverview 106).

JUNE M. HIEMENZ SPYCHALA MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP was established in 1989 in memory of June M. Hiemenz Spychala, who served on the faculty of the English Department at SCSU from 1977 until her death in 1989. The scholarship is awarded to declared English majors and minors with a composition emphasis. Recipients must be of junior or senior standing and carry at least a 3.0 GPA in English. The minimum award is $300.

ADAM THEISEN SCHOLARSHIP FOR ENGLISH MAJORS was established in 2000 by Adam's mother and family members. Adam was an English major, who loved to write and draw, and was determined to become a professional writer or an English teacher. Adam died in November, 1999 from cystic fibrosis. This scholarship is awarded to full-time English majors in their junior or senior year.

MARVIN THOMPSON SHAKESPEARE SCHOLARSHIP was established in 1993 by Ruth Thompson with gifts given in memory of her late husband, Marvin. Both Ruth and Marvin are former professors in the English Department. The scholarship is awarded to declared English undergraduate or graduate majors with an emphasis in Shakespeare studies and who carries the highest academic excellence.

ELIZABETH AND LYLE VAN PELT SCHOLARSHIP IN ENGLISH was established in 1997 by Lyle Van Pelt and his daughters, Jean and Susan. Both Lyle and Elizabeth Van Pelt were faculty members in the English Department. The scholarship is awarded to declared English undergraduate English majors with a GPA of 3.0 or higher and with academic promise in English.

OTHER SCHOLARSHIPS are available which are not limited by major. Inquire in the Office of Financial Aids (AS-106) for information and application forms.

Untitled Document